Mission Tengu v01

This post is a bit of an experiment, to see if I can structure these in a worthwhile fashion.  It would be nice to have some discussion going on them in the long run, but I will not holding my breath.

Historically I have been using Command Ships for my mission running.  Now that I am living out of an Orca, I’ve had to start experimenting with the smaller Strategic Cruisers.  Currently my main is using a Tengu, with the support of the Alt in a Proteus.

The goals of this fitting…

. Be the primary tank
. Not have to change fittings between missions
. Not cost so much as to encourage suicide ganking

[Tengu, MS 04f]
Ballistic Control System II
Ballistic Control System II
Ballistic Control System II
Capacitor Flux Coil II
Capacitor Flux Coil II

Pith B-Type Large Shield Booster
Federation Navy 10MN Afterburner
Invulnerability Field II
Photon Scattering Field II
Photon Scattering Field II
Pith A-Type Explosion Dampening Field

Heavy Missile Launcher II, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Scourge Heavy Missile

Medium Capacitor Control Circuit I
Medium Capacitor Control Circuit I
Medium Capacitor Control Circuit I

Tengu Defensive – Amplification Node
Tengu Electronics – CPU Efficiency Gate
Tengu Engineering – Capacitor Regeneration Matrix
Tengu Offensive – Accelerated Ejection Bay
Tengu Propulsion – Fuel Catalyst

This is actually over tanked – but my experiments to modify it so far seem to have had only minor increases in DPS at a big loss in tank.  If I put on two Caldari Navy BCS I can swap the CPU Efficiency Gate for the Dissolution Sequencer, which gives me an extra 30km targeting range, 30 odd scan resolution, and 12 extra DPS.  It might just push the fitting costs a little higher than I want.

I looked at T2 HAMs, but the extra DPS was offset by the extra time taken in missions to approach the more distant rats.  I am relatively pleased with the cost of the fitting for where it is at.  I just need to be careful in missions where your Cap can get drained.  So far, and in conjunction with my Alt’s DPS, this tanks and clears L4 missions with relative comfort.

8 thoughts on “Mission Tengu v01

  1. The Large shield booster and regen matrix are co-dependent. If you drop to a medium (or two small) deadspace repper then you’ll find you can run the capacitor reservoir and get an extra launcher slot. You’ll probably be able to replace some CCC rigs with a bay loading accelerator, which will increase your damage further.

    • The issue came down to price – The Pith B-type Large cost me around 130M. The Medium boosters were substantially more expensive, 600M to over a Bil ISK for the variations I was looking at. Similiar issue with a pair of smalls, the cheapest (that tanked effectively enough) starting at around 150 Mil each. Having young kids at home, I sometimes have to just walk away from my EVE session. I hope the current fitting is less likely to attract suicide attacks, and can over tank a mission when the wife is suddenly at the door demanding I watch the kids.

  2. here is the build w the cheap boosters, i saw them last nite for around $35mil each.

    [Tengu, Tengu – PvE Minimum Spec]
    Ballistic Control System II
    Ballistic Control System II
    Ballistic Control System II
    Ballistic Control System II

    Invulnerability Field II
    Explosion Dampening Field II
    10MN Afterburner II
    Domination Shield Boost Amplifier
    Gistii B-Type Small Shield Booster
    Gistii B-Type Small Shield Booster

    Heavy Missile Launcher II
    Heavy Missile Launcher II
    Heavy Missile Launcher II
    Heavy Missile Launcher II
    Heavy Missile Launcher II
    Heavy Missile Launcher II

    Medium Capacitor Control Circuit I
    Medium Warhead Rigor Catalyst I
    Medium Warhead Rigor Catalyst I

    Tengu Defensive – Amplification Node
    Tengu Electronics – Dissolution Sequencer
    Tengu Propulsion – Fuel Catalyst
    Tengu Offensive – Accelerated Ejection Bay
    Tengu Engineering – Augmented Capacitor Reservoir

    i’ve EFT’d it and it looks great–cap stable around 55%, ofc i want to go to CN BCSs but that does greatly increase the gank factor.

    • Interesting for the low fitting price. You must have rank V in the subsystems though – that is not cap stable for me with the AB going. While at my skills it does do 6% more DPS than my usual fit, its active tank a lot more fragile (75% less).

  3. EH,

    I’ve read quite a few of your posts since my first response, so I’m now aware of ur Orca home base for missions with a strat cruiser combo for missioning instead of BCs and/or BSes. Since the tengu is your primary tank, this fit is prolly not viable, but it’s nice to see that not all faction fits are crazy expensive.

    Add’ly the fit I posted–but have never flown, btw–is meant to orbit a jettisoned missile or other item at range from the targets–cap stable w/AB on–to greately decrease the damage taken–similar to how u use ur proteus? Finally, the Dissolution Sequencer is a huge upgrade for jamming from Guristas, so it might be worth it to upgrade to CN BCS (hmmm per this thread the Dis Seq may not be enuf now… http://www.eveonline.com/ingameboard.asp?a=topic&threadID=1493604)

    • I usually have my Main orbit one point in each stage (a wreck or mission object), and my alt then orbits my main. (I try to keep all wrecks within 60km of that spot for easier salvage.) That approach cuts down on the dps you take.

      Interesting link – my setup would be no good against Guristas. I can swap in the Dissolution Sequencer, drop a BCS for Gravimetric Backup Arrary II, and a Photon Scattering Field for an ECCM – Gravimetric II module. Sensor strength goes from 18 to 89, damage down to 272, and tank down to 657. Workable still, but slows the missions right down.

  4. one more thought, have read a lot of your blog posts and thought it would be nice to chat in game if you ever have the time. If you’re interested, feel free to email me and I can reply to you w/one of my in-game char names so that you can contact me if so.

    • I had not initially planned to mention my in game Toon’s in this blog (although I assumed I would mistakenly leave evidence of them in screen captures). This was not so much to protect them from any griefing or trolling derived from this blog, but to protect any Corporation or Alliance I was part of. Since it looks like I am going to be playing solo for a while, that is less of a consideration now. I’ve sent you an email.

Leave a Reply

