Anti Frig Celestis v01

I spent 3 or 4 hours on the weekend engrossed in EVE. I had come across an anti-frigate Celestis fit that I quite liked the look of. I spent a long time in EFT (The EVE Fitting Tool) – making variations of it, coming up with two different tank options and 6 different weapon configurations, and then logged into the game to test them out on Alt number 1.

While many of these options were close on paper, some were far more effective in practise, so I further refined my fitting. I still had some doubts however, so I purchased a flavor of the month Dramiel, fitted it out with dual propulsion mods, and did further testing using it.

The goals of this fitting..

. Anti-Frigate
. Bait ship – generally need them to attack you (think more anti-pirate)
. Plausible for Solo use
. Cheap but effective

 

 

[Celestis, Anti Frig Beam]
Damage Control II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
800mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I

Warp Scrambler II
X5 Prototype I Engine Enervator
X5 Prototype I Engine Enervator
X5 Prototype I Engine Enervator
Y-T8 Overcharged Hydrocarbon I Microwarpdrive

Medium Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency S
Medium Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency S
Medium Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency S
Medium Energy Neutralizer II

Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Medium Capacitor Control Circuit I

Warrior II x5
Warrior II x3

It is obviously a short range fit – and designed more to be a surprise package / bait ship. In practise the small beam turrets gave the most flexibility for tracking, damage and the option of range. (It is very effective on Frigates within 10km, but also possible to hit out to 30km if you need to scare away a Frigate Warp disrupting you from range.)

The CCC might seem odd – and on paper it doesn’t make much difference, but again in the field it seemed to make the ship easier and more flexible to fly.

In the end it kept me amused for hours and seemed to be nasty against any frigate that strayed within 10km.  It obviously is in trouble against frigates orbiting 13+ km away, but the beams and warriors will hopefully give you the chance of seeing such ships off before they take you down.  So I made up a couple ships and put them away for a rainy day.

 

Leave a Reply

