Incarna thoughts 01

. Patch took longer than scheduled.  CCP, it looks better to quote a higher outage time and deliver early, than to do the opposite.

. The animated splash screen at login is rather odd.  The position of the cruiser as it does a flyby is down low on the screen and half obscured.  It is also somewhat slow as it crosses in front of you.

. I must admit I had a slight amount of trepidation as I put in my main characters password and pressed enter.

. The very first load time into the captain quarters was very slow.  Perception subsequently however is that it adds a maybe 4 or 5 seconds to your first log in, and maybe a second or two when re-docking.

. My first unexpected hurdle – after standing there and looking around for a few minutes, was how the hell do you move?  Turns out it is double click.

. Interacting with objects is kind of logical (you click on them or hover your mouse over them and options pop up) – but it seems to take into account distance, so I could click on the couch, select sit, and nothing would happen. I would have to move a bit closer and try again.

. It is not as immersive as I first thought – the station, hanger, ship, local overlays etc can make it seem just like an animated background.

. Too slow to move around – especially when you dock up and find yourself outside of the quarters.  It would be nice to have the option to walk fast instead of stroll.  Maybe even an option to run…

. The position of your character kind of makes sense – standing when you first log in, out on the hanger gantry when you re-dock.  Moving around however is so slow that I can see myself simply ignoring most of the features.  Would be nice to be able to select a default starting point – mine would be sitting on the couch.

. Character texture is rather unnatural and not as high quality as I expected, and the turn movement is too jerky.

. Is there a way to spin your ship in the hanger?

. It was a nice touch seeing your pod parked below the quarters, although you can’t seem to approach it.

. Last of all looked at the Noble Exchange and fell off my chair.  A PLEX costs around $17.50, or 320 to 420M ISK.  Each PLEX can be converted into 3,500 Aurum.  The items in the exchange cost between 1,000 and 12,000 Aurum, with most around the price of a PLEX.  The initial offerings were slim and frankly less than inspiring.  Who set such a ridiculous pricing point? Who would pay that much for a pretend skirt or Jacket!?  I had two PLEX put aside to buy some Aurum, but based on that initial view I cashed them out for ISK.

So – I am glad to see it finally here, and I look forward to when there are corporation and public areas to visit.  It seemed to work ok, although I suspect as I mentioned above, I will just regard it as an animated background and ignore it.  (Being able to start myself in a default location might change my view a little.)  This was of course just my initial view.  I’ll have to go back and look more closely at things over the coming weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

