Inventory Window with a mind of its own

I updated the client and log into Inferno.  I realised none of my Toons are anywhere near a missile ship, so I will have to wait a bit before enjoying those new visuals.  I checked out the new War related information to find it, well, kind of underwhelming.   Never mind – I have the new inventory Window to get used to.

Performance seems ok and its use is mostly logical.  I always keep my ship cargo hold open and anchored at the bottom of the screen – so I separate it from the Inventory window, minimise the index and filters, and resize it to suit.

I undock, and my cargo hold window jumps back to the middle of the screen in the new inventory window format, with the index opened again.

I can’t separate the cargo hold window using shift (I assume because it is the only window), so I minimise the index and filter, resize it, and move it back down to the bottom of the screen – again.  I make several gate jumps and the window stays where I left it.

I then dock in a new station, and find the Cargo hold window jumps back to the middle of the screen in the new inventory window, with the index opened again.  Ok, I think I know how this is going to work.

So I undock, and the inventory window disappears, as does the Cargo window.  I click on the Cargo icon and it opens anchored in the right spot and the right size.

Not ideal, but at least it seems to be remembered.  I guess I can live with that.

I jump into the next system, and the cargo window disappears.  Huh?

I dock at a new station and again the inventory window opens by default on Cargo.

I undock.  No cargo window.  I manually open the Cargo window.

I jump into the next system, and the cargo window disappears.

I jump into the next system, and the cargo window automatically opens.

I jump into the next system, and the cargo window disappears again

I dock – and no inventory window appears.

By now I am assuming there isn’t a proper logic to this, and it is buggy.

I head back home with my trade goods, with the Cargo window opening or closing by itself after every jump.

I dock back at my home station – and my corporate hanger isn’t showing up in the inventory window.  I open the Corpration Assets window, but can’t copy anything into it.

So I undock, close the cargo hold, redock, and thankfully have my Corp hangers are again in the Inventory Window.

I don’t know.  It seems that every time CCP makes changes to the UI they introduce bugs.  Bugs which you just can not fathom how you would miss them in testing.  Going forward I will try to kepe my Cargo Window Anchored in the Inventory Window, and not have it (or any other inventory window) openned while jumping between systems or docking.  Hopefully CCP will finesse this moving forward – but a the moment the new Inventory window appears unreliable and inconsistent in its behaviour.

Leave a Reply

