Hi Sec Exploration

While scanning down Empire systems for entrances into Wormhole space, I would keep finding system after system with every sort of site but a Wormhole. As I mentioned last post, I have set up a new Mobile Orca base to wander across the galaxy and get reacquainted with these again. As you would expect, I am now finding system after system with only Wormhole entrances in them…

My Alt pilots a travel fit Orca for me, while I swap through the ships in its Maintenance hangar as needed. Currently stored there are:

. Buzzard (Prober)
. Retribution (PVE Fit)
. Moa (Gas Miner)
. Raptor (Shuttle)
. Thrasher (Salvager)
. Legion (Empire Jack of All trades Prober)
. Covetor (Hull and fittings in Corp Hanger)

I plan to run just about every site I find at least once, stopping to enjoy the scenery in each one, and move across the map to try my hand at all the Pirate faction variations.

I’ve had 4 sessions so far, and have found lots of Omber Gravimetric sites (which I have ignored), a large number of Wormhole’s, a couple Combat sites and the usual mix of anomalies.

I had the Pulverize the Pioneers Escalation from a Rogue Drone Haunted Yard Complex, right through to its end. I use the Retribution for this, and found it easy but with minimal rewards.

I also had the Medical Twilight Escalation from a Blood Watch Complex. I started with the Retribution on this, but found it was taking too long to kite the mass of ships while staying out of neut range. I completed the rest of the complex and resulting escalation with the Legion. It still required a bit of care with triggers, but otherwise worked out well. This also went right through to the end, but the site was in an extremely busy low sec system. I contemplated taking in a Pilgrim, but reading up the description I don’t think I’d get through it before I was scanned down and someone else enjoyed whatever rewards dropped from the Blood Factory Overseer. As such I did not complete it.

I had half an eye on D-Scan while running the Blood Watch Complex, and noticed two sets of probes out. As such I wasn’t surprised to get two visitors – the first in a Nighthawk in the first room, who warped out again. (May have been because the gate was locked and I had dragged the key ship a fair way out in my Retribution.) The second visitor was in a Proteus who came into the second room and tried to trigger the Faction Ship – but I had already killed and looted it and got the escalation. He stole from a can then warped out.

I can see being contested in these sites is going to be a bit of a problem. It is obvious people just Zerg these – hitting the triggers, getting the faction drops and then just warping out. I am generally not researching them, working them out as I go, and just taking my time. That is going to cost in me ISK, and likely a level of annoyance.

The drops were all pretty average, but that just comes down to luck. For around 4 hours effort I ended up with 55M of loot and 10M in bounties. Not good money, but half fun for a change.

Here’s the Legion Fit I am currently using. It is trying to be a Jack of all trades, but so far I have been pleased with its performance. It wasn’t that expensive either.  It doesn’t have much of a buffer though, so in the harder complexes you will need to pay a little attention.

[Legion, Hi-Sec Exploration v01]
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Imperial Navy Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Imperial Navy Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Corpum C-Type Medium Armor Repairer

Federation Navy 10MN Afterburner
Cap Recharger II
Codebreaker I
Analyzer I

Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M
Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M
Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M
Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency M
Small Tractor Beam II
Salvager II
Sisters Expanded Probe Launcher, Sisters Core Scanner Probe I

Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Medium Gravity Capacitor Upgrade I

Legion Defensive – Nanobot Injector
Legion Electronics – Emergent Locus Analyzer
Legion Propulsion – Fuel Catalyst
Legion Offensive – Drone Synthesis Projector
Legion Engineering – Augmented Capacitor Reservoir

Hammerhead II x5
Hobgoblin II x7
Vespa EC-600 x5
Warrior II x5
Hammerhead II x4

5 thoughts on “Hi Sec Exploration

  1. Ok now i’m jealous. Always wanted to do what you’re doing regarding the nomadic life. The only real difference is I’m using a proteus which can do pretty much any site it comes across. Grav and ladar being the exceptions.

    Also has battleship grade armor and drones alone puts out about the same dps as yours. Tend to treat it as a buffer tank though. Have a railgun/hammerhead fit with less utility but about 200 more dps.

    Anything to try and compete with those blasted tengus you see everywhere!

    • Must admit I picked the Legion because you don’t see it flown around as often. I have 2 mobile Orca bases, one for Missions, one for Exploration. I also like the concept, although the reality is I jump clone between multiple bases all the time, so it doesn’t end up feeling as nomadic as it might be.

      • You know you’re lazy when you JC 8 jumps because you can’t be bothered flying there. Not speaking about myself. Obviously… )

        >ahem< anyways, I prefer it if we could actually fly outside the confines of the current system/jump gates… somewhere where it takes time to get to and back from.

        A boundary outside which cynos would not work (otherwise you're effectively negating distance) that would take some work to get there. Somewhere where you truly need to be prepared.

        Now that would be exploration. WH space comes close… but even that is usually populated and mined/farmed.

        I want distant places that have no markings except "here be dragons" where anything can happen. Space should be big. Really big. No bigger than that. BIG.

    • I understand the concept of what you are suggesting, but I’m not sure it would be introduced in that fashion. I could imagine some of the DEV’s remarking – but how would other players find you for PVP?

      • In the same way they currently do in wormholes… 🙂

        There are always going to be hot spots or resource points to fight over. Scan probes etc.

        Being honest about it, I can’t see anything like it happening because of the likely scope of programming changes. Nor would there likely be a big enough sub-set of the player base to support that magnitude of change.

        I’d settle for less push button receive bacon play. While the rewards vary hugely from say L4 mission running, scanning suffers from the same problems.

        Once you’ve spent a certain amount of hours, you’ve really done all there is to do. More variety please in other words.

Leave a Reply

