Orca Fleet

2.5B gone, and I have 3 extra Orca’s fitted.

I love the Orca.

Yes it is great in support of mining operations, a useful hauler, and a nice introduction to the mechanics of Capital ships. More than that though – I think it is a ship which enhances the sandpit nature of EVE by being an adaptable mobile home, which makes it plausible to be a roaming Empire nomad.

(It might even be an example of where CCP gets it wrong with its focus of one role per ship.)

I’ve used a variety of fittings – most recently the 100mw MWD varient, but in practise I have found you only need a 100mw AB fit to get the 10 second warp trick to work.  This is the fit I am using on all my Orcas at the moment.

[Orca, Standard Travel Fit]
Damage Control II
Inertia Stabilizers II

Gist C-Type 100MN Afterburner
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
EM Ward Field II

Small Tractor Beam II
Salvager II
Improved Cloaking Device II

Large Cargohold Optimization I
Large Cargohold Optimization I
Large Cargohold Optimization I

Hobgoblin II x5
Vespa EC-600 x5

In the Corporate Hangers I carry the following spares:

T2 Reactor Control Unit
T2 Reinforced Bulk Head
T2 Survey Scanner
T2 Cargo Expanders (x2)
5 Spare T2 Hobgoblins
T1 Armored Warfare: Passive Defense
T1 & T2 Mining Foreman: Laser Optimization
T1 & T2 Mining Foreman: Mining Laser Field Enhancement
T1 Siege Warfare Link: Shield Efficiency & Shield Harmonizing

This allows for mining boosting (by either chararacter), and while it still works – off grid boosting during misions.  It is also easy to swap in for extra hauling capacity, or extra tank.

As I mentioned, I spent 2.5 Bil, and have offset that partially by finding 800M of stuff to sell off.  The sorting continues.

2 thoughts on “Orca Fleet

    • It is mentioned in the previous post. They are being used by my main and his alt as Mobile bases. 1 base for Mining (2 Orca’s), 1 for Missions (2 Orca’s), 1 for Empire Exploration (1 Orca) and 1 for Low Sec stuff (1 Orca). I’ve been enjoying taking a more mobile approach to my carebearing, so this just increasing what I can carry around, and adds the low sec element.

Leave a Reply

