Salvaging Ships

I did some more ship sorting last night. This time I was reviewing my salvaging options.

The undisputed king of salvagers is the Noctis. If you have never cleaned up wrecks with one of these before, do yourself a favor and give it a go. It is a joy to use. (Well, in comparison to the other options.)

There are not that many fitting options on them, and I imagine my setup is fairly standard.

[Noctis,Standard Fit]
Nanofiber Internal Structure II
Expanded Cargohold II
Expanded Cargohold II

10MN Afterburner II
10MN MicroWarpdrive II

Small Tractor Beam II
Small Tractor Beam II
Small Tractor Beam II
Small Tractor Beam II
Salvager II
Salvager II
Salvager II
Salvager II

Medium Salvage Tackle I
Medium Salvage Tackle I
Medium Salvage Tackle I

The main problem is that it uses up 250,000m3 of space in a Ship Maintenance Bay. That is in part why I am using 2 Orca’s for my Mobile Mission Base – and why I am only taking one across my 6 Orcas.

That means the backup Salvager for my other bases will need to be a destroyer hull. T1 fit, I would either go for the Thrasher (more speed, better cap) or Catalyst (biggest cargo capacity). Neither hull however will fit a rack of 4 T2 Tractor Beams and 4 T2 Salvagers without boosting the CPU.

While both the Catalyst and Coercer can be T2 fit with a single Co-Process II, you have to manage their Cap. This leaves the Cormorant – which doesn’t require a fitting mod and is cap stable.

[Cormorant, Standard Fit]
Expanded Cargohold II

1MN Afterburner II
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II

Small Tractor Beam II
Small Tractor Beam II
Small Tractor Beam II
Small Tractor Beam II
Salvager II
Salvager II
Salvager II
Salvager II

Small Salvage Tackle I
Small Salvage Tackle I
Small Salvage Tackle I

Another favorite Salvager of mine – from the old days, was a dual prop Cyclone Battlecruiser. It is no longer relevant with the arrival of the Nortis, but it had a good capacity with expanders. Something I should probably not admit is that for a while (when you only had T1 fitting options) I used an Eris Interdictor as a Salvager. It was quicker and had a larger cargohold than a Catalyst. T2 fit none of the Interdictors now do a better job than the lowly Cormorant.

4 thoughts on “Salvaging Ships

  1. Guess you answered the question in this post about all the Orca’s.

    For me I usually found 3 Salvagers and 5 Tractor Beam to work better as you have more stuff pulled in to Salvage as fast as the Salvager can munch on the wreck.

    • A valid point. I usually pop the first rat in a room, bookmark and orbit its wreck, and deliberately leave as many of the subsequent wrecks within 20km as possible – to make salvaging quicker. In that sitation the 4/4 split tends to work better.

  2. You have touched on a subject near and dear to my skeevy licentious heart… As I salvage only in W-space, and as ALL of our PvE combat income is made ‘solely’ from Loot & Salvage (IE no bounties on Sleepers)…

    We now use an unusual tactic… and hence my fit is very specific to this tactic…

    HDF “Choppy”

    Warp Core Stab II
    Warp Core Stab II
    Warp Core Stab II

    F-90 SeBo’s w/ Scan Res Script
    F-90 SeBo’s w/ Scan Res Script
    Salvager II
    Salvager II
    Salvager II
    Salvager II
    Salvager II
    Salvager II
    Salvager II
    Salvager II

    Med Salvage Tackle I
    Med Salvage Tackle I
    Med Salvage Tackle I

    Plus I have the Salvaging implants:

    Proteque ‘Prospector’ Salvaging SV-905
    Proteque ‘Prospector’ Environmental Analysis EY-1005

    The reason for this fit is we run the C3 sites in our homehole with one of us in a Marauder (a Kronos), which it so happens bonuses Tractor range very nicely… so while we take down the Nefarious Forces of Naptime, the Kronos pilot tractors everything into a wreck ball and loots as he goes…

    Hence the x8 Salvager IIs and no tractors… and as Sleeper salvage take up very little m3, I go ahead and stab up the lows JIC.

    On the last ship of the last wave, I reship to my Noccy and return to the Kronos at ‘0’, we all Align to the POS and stop ships, the others keep droans out and ready to defend as I target (very fast with the dual SeBo’s) all the wrecks and pull max salvage at a rate that is… really quite simply amazing to see…

    As I can currently only target 6 wrecks at a time, I always double up salvagers on two of the wrecks… then double up whenever possible as the wrecks pop.

    When I get down to 3 to 4 wrecks reaming the FC calls “Align to speed”, we all “X” up as we reach speed and by the time the last wreck pops the FC insta-fleet warps us all back to the POS…

    The Noctis is and has always been my favortie ship in EVE… and this version and the tactic we use is amazing.

    When raiding I use a Salvage Thrasher… far easier on the wallet if lost while out in the wilds of EVE… =]

    • That is a very workable fit for the situation – although might raise some eyebrows on a killboard! I noticed recently that our Corp was banning the use of Noctis in our Wormholes – suggesting they were too big a targets and to stick with destroyers.

Leave a Reply

