I expected more explosions

I’ve been thinking a bit about the collective EVE bloggers of late.

EVE Players constantly hunt and kill each other with real pixel consequence. A large enough number of these players also troll, lambast, scam, steal and belittle their opponents. They show no respect, mercilessly hound signs of weakness, and go out of their way to be upsetting. Big wars see streams of military grade propaganda and thousands of players displaced.

It is not hard to imagine why people get annoyed, or even angry, and why grudges and rivalries can last for years.

Given this, I was surprised at how generally civil the EVE Blogging community is.

Yes I am sure you can prove me wrong with enough exceptions and bad examples. I am not saying it is some angelic utopia of fair-mindedness. I’m saying that – given the nature of the EVE environment, I am surprised that the blogging community is not more fractious and troll like.

And then the obvious came to me.

The average EVE Blogger is probably not the truest representation of the EVE environment. Yes they can be found in Empire, and Low and Null Sec, and Wormholes, and in solo play, and in small gang PVP, and within Industry or huge Alliances. Yes by following them you can learn about the mechanics of the game, the histories, the many different play styles and you can get valuable tips and ideas.

But the authors tend to be well (well) out of their teens, often have careers, are often married, and a fair number also have kids. They tend to have a perspective on what is really important in life, and the maturity to realise that life isn’t just about them.

It would be a mistake going into EVE assuming this relative civility is the norm.

(I’ll stop thinking about the EVE Blogging community now! 🙂 )

 

4 thoughts on “I expected more explosions

  1. I think you’re right about the demographic of Eve bloggers in general. I have no solid proof myself, but it makes sense that, given the demographic of Eve players (is it something like 25-45 or something?), the majority of bloggers are probably at home with their families…blogging, instead of out partying. I fit the 25-45 demographic, I blog at home, where my wife and kids are. A ton of my favorite Eve bloggers work in an office setting where they can get a post written during some downtime.
    So, yeah. I think you’re on to something.

  2. This could be a bit chicken and egg, but I think the older folks tend to operate under the old “respect for another person’s opinion” adage. We may not agree with that opinion, but if that’s the case we (usually) put forward why in a reasoned and calm way.

    Not OMG NOOB. And other derogatory and low brow commentary usually reserved for the anonymous poster. Whose argument can often be distilled down to “I’m right, you’re wrong, neener neener neener..”.

    In other words, we have discussions not exercises in name calling. That in itself keeps things interesting and helps us as individual bloggers keep going.

    It’s that or a healthy dollop of masochism. IDK. In any case, writing a blog takes a certain degree of discipline, especially if you’re going to keep it going.

    Not necessarily older folks, but perhaps those who have had a few of the rough edges knocked off?

  3. Agreed, and I am a bit more than twice the beginning age of that demographic… =]

    But, on the whole, I believe EvE’s whole base demographic may be skewed in the same direction. This is far more a game for adults, for a mature mind set, than just a game.

    Most ‘games’ have a strong element of instant gratification… EvE is much more like bridge, a long haul game. The real rewards are seen only with a real investment of time and long term effort. This, as I see it ‘tends’ to weed out those who are in it only for the immediate reward… IE children, preteens and teens and older ‘kids’ who have not matured enough to see the value in the long term game.

    The youngest player I personally ‘know’ of in my time in EvE was 15, and a damned precocious 15 at that, a very mature ‘kid’. He saw the value in the long term game and was a good fit in the Indy corp I was in at the time… and they build caps, run large scale mining ops, etc. this is the longest of long term investments in EvE.

    I have said it ‘afore and I’ll say it again… hurray for EvE’s harsh, hard game and the gods awful complexity of the Learning Cliff… it keeps the children out. =]

Leave a Reply

