Keeps on giving

I logged in with over 50,000 players online. It has been a while since I’ve noticed the count so high. I am ashamed to admit it but my first thought was – best check the market orders to make the most of the activity.There are 23 pilots in my home system. What the hell? In the good old days it would only be 2 or 3 at most. Ah that’s right, market orders, don’t lose focus…

There is a sea of green in the transaction history, although mostly just low value Station Containers. They are turning over more than expected, and there is no real apparent competition as yet.

Green Sea

My three year old arrives asking for porridge for Breakfast. Once made, she takes a couple mouthfuls and runs off to play, apparently satisfied. I tell her I am not making porridge again for a long time. I go to sit back down at my computer when my seven year old turns up asking for toast. Once he is fed I go to sit down again, but the pair of them start clashing over a TV remote so I have to go separate them.

My wife finally gets up (out of the wrong side) of bed, and I go back to EVE.

I don’t think I will bother getting into the manufacturing of Station Containers, once the convenience stock has gone. Even if they continue to sell at 100K, I can only fit 90 of them in my Freighter at one time, and that full load would only see profits from slow sales of around 7M. Not worth it to be frank.

I wonder if the people buying them at 100K are swearing at the price gouging industrialist, or are just thankful they are available.

I don’t have long to muse over that before the kids and wife all knock heads, and I decided it will be more relaxing to visit a large shopping center to finish off the Christmas gifts.

<Insert long pause>

Many hours later I return to EVE. The last of the Christmas shopping is done, and the grumpy family is temporary sedated in front of TV, Computer or the Sunday Newspaper. Now where was I, ah, those Market Orders…

Wouldn’t it be great if anyone with the right roles could change any Market Order placed in the name of the Corp? Now that would save some time and hassle.

Ok, 5 hours after I first logged in to do it, I finally update my Market Orders. Competition really seems to have dropped away over the last few months. There used to be a good 3 or 4 other active traders, but now there are lots of areas I am left alone in. Is it because they gave up in the face of my dogged persistence, or (as I suspect more likely) the turn over isn’t worth their while.

The new Hulls are still at reasonably inflated prices – there seems to have been some unspoken agreement between manufacturers to put their stock up at the same low price with no undercutting. I toe the line and follow suit.

I spent some time yesterday and today in EFT. If you are not already aware, EFT 2.17 Retribution has been released.  (The turn around was a little quicker than normal.)

https://forums.eveonline.com/default.aspx?g=posts&t=24359

I did notice a tip from Gripen which I had never realised before – the modules displayed in the fitting panel are sorted by Meta level by default. Crap, so obvious.

The Venture mining frigate turns out to be a great little ship – and good fun to fly. Fitting is very easy, and they trump the traditional Moa Gas Harvester by a useful margin. I can also clean up the empire rats and salvage them as I go (keeping an eye on the range to the Asteroid I am working on.)

Venture Mining Frigate

Venture Mining Frigate

[Venture, Basic Empire Fit]
Mining Laser Upgrade II

1MN Afterburner II
Survey Scanner II
Medium Shield Extender II

Miner II
Miner II
Salvager II

Small Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I
Small Anti-Thermal Screen Reinforcer I
Small Core Defense Field Extender I

Hobgoblin II x2

I also look at my Hurricane fits after they got their Power Grid Nerfed with this release. It doesn’t seem that bad – I have to drop down to 220mm Autocannons (which frankly was probably a good idea anyway, they hit the smaller stuff so much better). Nothing else needs to be done to my shield fit, and on my Armor fit I drop to a Meta 4 Energy Distruptor and swap one Trimark for an Ancillary Current Router. Both fits still seem workable.

I only have the armor fit in the hanger – so I decided to take it out and test it against.. errr.. a Rapier, why not.

[Hurricane, Armor]
Damage Control II
1600mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Gyrostabilizer II
Gyrostabilizer II

10MN Microwarpdrive II
Warp Disruptor II
Stasis Webifier II
Sensor Booster II, Scan Resolution Script

220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
220mm Vulcan AutoCannon II, Republic Fleet EMP M
Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Mjolnir Heavy Assault Missile
Medium Unstable Power Fluctuator I

Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Medium Trimark Armor Pump I
Medium Ancillary Current Router I

Hobgoblin II x5
Hobgoblin II x1

While this looks good on paper with 62K EHP and 588DPS, it is an absolute brick to fly. The Rapier wasn’t able to kill it, but it obviously had no problem dictating range and making its escape when the long range ammo and drones plinked away enough at its shields.  I might have to play around with the shield fit.

(The reason for a PVP ship? I will probably never use them, but with suspect flags being so obvious in local, it might be nice having some combat ships nearby in case I want to do something stupid.)

4 thoughts on “Keeps on giving

  1. I can relate with all the family aggro. Seems the only time I can ever run sleeper sites or gas mine in my new Venture is when I can keep my eyes open longer than the family. I’m happy to hear you were able to make some profits in your market orders.

  2. I bought up various containers myself. They be slow longterm sells. I know. Have Station Containers, just not quite sure what other people really do with them. Why not maybe use a Station Warehouse instead for more space which is what I tend to prefer.

    I guess it may be easier to just move minerals from one station to strategic trade stations along with the BP and make the Station Containers there in Batches to supply that station only vs moving a limited amount in a slow freighter around. Haven’t tried it yet though.

    • The station containers cost under 20K to build, so are cheap. I can only think of one or two occasions where I have actually filled one – so they would probably met most people’s needs. The Warehouse containers cost over 1.6M to build – that’s a lot of station containers… The only place I have built those were in Player 0.0 stations, where you couldn’t buy or build station containers (up until Retribution was released anyway.)

Leave a Reply

