You spent how much!?

I pulled out my EVE To Do list and settled on setting up Cyno Buses.

While my Carriers are safely parked, I need to be able to move them when I want. That requires getting one of my Alts into the destination system with a cyno.

The concept is simple enough – a Cyno Bus is an Industrial Ship that is carrying a number of Frigate hulls and all the fittings and supplies required to open up Cynos. As anyone who uses Cynos knows, it pays to have more than one.

I decided I needed 3 Frigates per bus, enough space for various fitting options, and fuel for at least 10 Cynos. The aim then was a capacity of around 10,000m3. I checked the main Alts I use for Cynos, and they could all fly the Mammoth Minmatar Industrial.

I quickly threw together a T1 fit to provide the required capacity, a basic tank, a cloak, and mods to make it align quicker to speed up travel. I then flew to Amarr where I looked at the price of the various Meta 1 to Meta 4 items, and “upgraded” to them when the price was really cheap. The end result:

[Mammoth, Cyno Bus]
Beta Hull Mod Expanded Cargo
Beta Hull Mod Expanded Cargo
Local Hull Conversion Inertial Stabilizers I
Local Hull Conversion Inertial Stabilizers I

Experimental 10MN Afterburner I
Upgraded EM Ward Amplifier I
Upgraded Thermic Dissipation Amplifier I
Medium Subordinate Screen Stabilizer I
Medium Subordinate Screen Stabilizer I

Prototype Cloaking Device I
[empty high slot]

Medium Low Friction Nozzle Joints I
Medium Anti-Thermal Screen Reinforcer I
Medium Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I

On my lowest skilled Alt it has 7.8K EHP, a capacity of 10,547m3, and an align time of 8.4 seconds. I also threw two Warp Core Stabilisers in the cargo hold, for use if I try to fly the ship into Low Sec.

In the end these cost 5M each, although most of that cost was in the Hull, Low Friction Nozzle Joint Rig, and of course the Cloak. I set up 4.

Next I needed to pick the Frigate to use, and a mix of fittings to maximise my options. The actual fit when opening a Cyno was generally a MWD to get into position quicker if needed, the Cyno Field Generator, and enough fuel for one Cycle. However I also include a Warp core stab, Nanofiber internal Structure, Cloak, Micro Auxilliary Power Core, and Mini Shield tank – basically for when the little Cyno Frigate has to travel some distance through dangerous space to get into position.

[Probe, Cyno with the lot]
Warp Core Stabilizer I
Nanofiber Internal Structure I
Micro Auxiliary Power Core I

1MN Microwarpdrive I
EM Ward Amplifier I
Small Shield Extender I
Small Shield Extender I

Prototype Cloaking Device I
Cynosural Field Generator I
[empty high slot]

[empty rig slot]
[empty rig slot]
[empty rig slot]

Again on the lowest skilled Alt, that has a 2.0K EHP and a max speed of 2,942m/s. Fully fit, these come in at just under 5M each – hence why it is a good idea to leave the Cloak in the station. I grab hulls and fits for 12 of them – 3 in each Cyno Bus.

Last of all I placed 5,000 units of Liquid Ozone in each of the Cyno Bus, enough for at least 14 Cyno’s.

Each bus ended up carrying just over 10,000m3.

Cyno Bus Ready to Roll

Cyno Bus Ready to Roll

 

Job done I idly took note of my bank balance, and almost fell off my chair. I had spent 80M ISK!

.. Small side note, this was my 300th post. I probably should have written something noteworthy and memorable to mark the occasion – but then again, why start doing that now huh?   *chuckles to self* ..

5 thoughts on “You spent how much!?

  1. Hmm good to get reminded what some players actually use T1 Modules for. 80 M ISK is no chump change for someone else profits even if the just selling T1 Stuff.

    Never really knew what a Cyno Buss was though I probably could imagine the use that gave it the name. Well good to have some idea of it all.

    Gratz on reaching 300 Posts!
    I’m sure 301 isn’t far behind.

    • I’m afraid Cyno Bus was just the term I used to describe it – it isn’t used by anyone else. A good chunk of that price was in the cloaks and cyno field generator. Might have to look at their manufacturing costs…

Leave a Reply

