Owl

Like many, I use the Google Reader to keep up to date with the EVE blogs I follow. Due to it’s incoming demise, I’ve been searching for an RSS Tool to replace it. I think I’ve settled on

http://www.rssowl.org/

It is a freeware tool with plenty of features and configuration options, including archiving, category tags and various search options and the like.  It is not a cloud type solution – it downloads the articles to your local PC (which is what I was looking for).  It can be linked in with your Google Reader – while it lives anyway.  My only disappointment so far is I don’t think you can mark a news item as “unread”, which is annoying.

 

Edit: As helpfully pointed out by Mekhios, you can mark a news item as read / unread by using the Mark Read option.

5 thoughts on “Owl

  1. Great choice. I use RSSOWL as well as it is cross-platform. BTW just click Mark Read again to change from read to unread and so on.

    • *mumble* *mumble* … lets not discuss how many times I went through all the menu, toolbar, and configuration options looking for that… Thanks for the tip.

  2. Also to simulate a cloud function with RSSOwl I just use the export/import function to save and load my feeds between different installs of Owl. I save the exports to a Dropbox folder.

  3. I’ve been using Feedly happily, since it pulls straight off of Google Reader’s APIs. The trick will be if they successfully reimplement on their own APIs as promised as Reader drops.

  4. I toyed with NetVibes and I’m not sure why I don’t like it. Perhaps there is too much interface. I want simple, just like Google Reader.

    I’m trying out http://theoldreader.com/ now. It’s very much like Google Reader intentionally. So far so good. I might be switching over after less than an hour of use.

    Having said that, I don’t want/need the articles downloaded to my PC

Leave a Reply

