So what about the magic?

EVE was down for an extended period of time as they dealt with a DDoS and an successful hack.  I watched #tweetfleet occasionally – both for updates, and for people’s reactions.

I remember a time – frankly the first few years I played EVE, where extended downtimes saw me feeling agitated.  An unannounced outage like this would have seen me decidedly antsy.  EVE was in effect was my primary source of relaxation and entertainment, and I was overly attached to it and what it provided.

This time around I just shrugged my shoulders.  No need to worry about trade updates as no one was online buying, and there wasn’t anything pressing I cared to be doing in game.

Splatus made a great blog post over here – http://splatus.wordpress.com/2013/06/03/the-day-the-universe-died/, remarking on what you would do on the last day the EVE servers were operational.

I thought about it for quite a while.  I would not have the sense of real loss that I might have in years past.  Instead I would raise a glass to the game in thanks of the years of distraction and entertainment, and for the real communities it spawned.  I would put everything in game neatly away in place (as ludicrous as that may sound), park my characters safely, and take some screen captures.  Last of all I would probably take my favourite ship and go watch some of the last day antics while cloaked, and write my last EVE blog post.  I’d be more thankful than sad, and my real life would be just a little richer for having a few more hours of my time a week.

It’s lost its magic – but that’s ok.

4 thoughts on “So what about the magic?

  1. Wow… is that what BitterVetedness feels like? I was most definitely hacked off when I couldn’t log on over the DDoS outage… but not ’cause of skills or market orders or PI… but because EvE is how I get to spend time with my son(s) everyday even though one is several hours away and on is far away in SC.

    The one in SC, AI (that’s “aye-eye” not “aye-ell”), is our CEO and an active Duty Marine and I live up in VA. While not separated by an ocean or such, we are far enough apart that visits have to be planned and budgeted and as such are few and far between. My other son (by a another father) Ty, is our other Director and is closer, but still a few hours away and so we don’t ‘see’ each other often.

    I was first exposed to EvE by my son and while I am a full blown addict (and would be w/o my sons being involved) it means so very much more to me flying with them ingame. Yes, we could still connect via other mediums, but flying internet spaceships together is a very strong virtual ‘we are together’ feeling… a very strong ‘shared experience’ thing… and that plus the friendships we have formed in corp and Alliance are strong ties for me…

    Add to that the fact that I play no other games, internet or otherwise. That no other game has ever so captivated me… so intrigued me and fired my imagination and challenged me as EvE has…

    Plus, TBH, my personal life has taken a few ‘turns’ such that all things EvE (playing, blogging, reading, thinking, pondering, daydreaming… sheesh) are my primary hobby and are the source of the majority of my ‘enjoyable’ time (aside from my kids and time at the farm)… but day to day, EvE is where I am happiest… where I am accepted and where the only stress is sudden violent death and cloneloss… and that stress I can handle with a grin… So, no, I would deeply miss this, our virtual life if it were to go away…

  2. @ Tur – your experience to connect with your sons via a game is something I saw in WoW of all places. For some reason, I ended up in a guild that was made up of RL friends and relatives with me being one of the very few outsiders. There were several active soldiers in the guild who used the game to spend quality time with their parents and wives. The coolest part was always when one of them made it home save and sound and would be on Mumble, state-side. There was much cheering and more beer consumed as can be healthy. Those raids tended to not go very well and as “Tank” I had particularly fun time keeping the group together.

    Bottom line, games are more than places to escape reality. They are “reality” in every aspect, individually as they present mental challenges to kids and adults in a world that has become too risk-averse and as social group to connect friends and family scattered across the globe. None of my RL friends know about or play computer games (and they do not know that I do) but the connections I made through the game are worth more than some casual “friendship”. It is this focus on the small group that attracted me to WH space and makes me hesitant to join vast nullsec corps…

  3. Pretty sure as Bittervet goes, I am lacking the much needed bitter bit. 🙂

    I can certainly understand TurAmarth why EVE is much more than just a game to you – being such a particularly special version of community. You have probably hit the nail on the head though about why I feel the way I do. All my friends and the vast majority of people I got to know closely in EVE have moved on. It doesn’t hold such a revered place in my heart.

    I am still here however. As I noted, I wouldn’t trash my little virtual world as I left it. I still have a lot of respect for it.

    Frankly what I would like to see is EVE being around for enough years that my Son can join me. He’s turning 8 soon, and he loves to play Minecraft with me over the LAN, talking via TeamSpeak, him in his room, my in my study. Knowing EVE as I do however, I suspect I’ll want him to be well into his teenage years before suggesting he join.

  4. Pingback: Familiar Circles | uglebsjournal

Leave a Reply

