The Jack-of-all-Trades Hi-Sec Exploration Tengu

I’ve spent a lot of time doing Hi-Sec Exploration over the last two weeks. I am still very enthused by the changes introduced in the Odyssey Expansion, and rate them highly.

One or two people remarked that I should fit a cargo scanner to make the Data and Relic sites worthwhile. I wasn’t entirely convinced, but it turns out they were right. There are only 1 or 2 items of value in each main container. Knowing what is there allows you to target a specific Can type when they are spewed out into space.

It was time to yet again revisit my choice of Hi-Sec Exploration Ship.

The nature of my Exploration:

. I do a round circuit of 18 Empire systems, all within 4 jumps of home
. I do all Anomalies * and Cosmic sites (that I can enter)
. I might poke my nose through wormholes to Empire or Null
. I am primarily looking for Faction Drops, T2 Salvage, Decryptors or Blueprints

My ship requirements:

. I do not want to dock for fitting changes
. I want enough cargo space to minimise the need to drop off loot
. It shouldn’t rely on drone DPS
. It should use Light Missiles or Small Beam Turrets
. Preferably it should be a cruiser sized hull or smaller
. It must fit a Probe Launcher
. It must tank up to a DED 2 of 10 & related escalations
. It must fit a Relic Analyzer
. It must fit a Data Analyzer
. It must fit a Cargo Scanner
. It must fit a Salvager
. It must fit an Afterburner
. I would prefer it fit a tractor beam

Basically with that list you need to go with a T3 cruiser. To have than many mid slots and to use launchers, you are further focused on the Legion and Tengu. I couldn’t quite get the Legion to work with the extra mid-slot needed for the Cargo Scanner, so I have become one of those annoying Tengu pilots in your exploration sites.

Interestingly this approach / fit was helped by CCP stopping T3 Cruisers from entering DED 3 and 4 sites. Without those, your tanking requirements are greatly reduced.

[Tengu, Hi-Sec Exploration 02]
Ballistic Control System II
Ballistic Control System II
Ballistic Control System II

Federation Navy 10MN Afterburner
Relic Analyzer II
Data Analyzer II
Cargo Scanner II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Pith B-Type X-Large Shield Booster

Dread Guristas Rapid Light Missile Launcher, Mjolnir Light Missile
Dread Guristas Rapid Light Missile Launcher, Mjolnir Light Missile
Dread Guristas Rapid Light Missile Launcher, Mjolnir Light Missile
Dread Guristas Rapid Light Missile Launcher, Mjolnir Light Missile
Small Tractor Beam II
Sisters Expanded Probe Launcher, Sisters Core Scanner Probe
Salvager II

Medium Gravity Capacitor Upgrade II
Medium Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I
Medium Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I

Tengu Offensive – Accelerated Ejection Bay
Tengu Propulsion – Fuel Catalyst
Tengu Engineering – Augmented Capacitor Reservoir
Tengu Electronics – Emergent Locus Analyzer
Tengu Defensive – Adaptive Shielding

Tengu

It probably looks a bit odd, but it fits the bill and works in practice. It is also not too expensive.  The DPS is fine for anything you encounter in the sites I can access. The Shield booster is not on auto repeat, and I only need to pulse it once or twice on rare occasion. The cargo capacity is generally good enough for my complete circuit. My only negatives is the scan resolution makes locking a bit of a chore, and in contested sites you don’t tend to out DPS more combat oriented opponents. Where you lose out there, you gain from not having to swap hulls all the time.

Tengu

Not a fitting to fly into unknown space with…

* If you wonder why I do all Anomalies – it is because of their occasional tendency to have Faction Drops at the end.

10 thoughts on “The Jack-of-all-Trades Hi-Sec Exploration Tengu

    • I might be missing something, but it would require a 6% PG implant to fit that with all skills at V. Impressive short burst tank though, but I suspect I would go for my Pilgrim instead.

      • I haven’t run the numbers myself through EFT. I was just trying to look smart and act helpful and contribute to the greater Eve community like my friend Evehermit. So the fit I linked is a rich person’s fit. In an attempt to defend my laziness, it would be nice to have a fit that would allow you to venture into LowSec or nullsec to run data and relic sites. All the while keeping to your standards of not having to refit or make too frequent stops to unload loot. I would not be looking to pvp, so I would not fit the warp scrambler, and I’d probably settle for a T2 web for belt ratting. I’m just so durn scurred to risk my precious T3’s.

      • A quick variation of my fit above, but for low sec:

        [Tengu, Exp 03 – Low Sec Fit]
        Damage Control II
        Ballistic Control System II
        Ballistic Control System II

        Experimental 10MN Microwarpdrive I
        Relic Analyzer II
        Data Analyzer II
        Cargo Scanner II
        Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
        Large Ancillary Shield Booster, Cap Booster 150

        Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Heavy Assault Missile
        Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Heavy Assault Missile
        Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Heavy Assault Missile
        Heavy Assault Missile Launcher II, Mjolnir Heavy Assault Missile
        Sisters Core Probe Launcher, Sisters Core Scanner Probe
        Covert Ops Cloaking Device II
        Salvager II

        Medium Gravity Capacitor Upgrade II
        Medium Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I
        Medium Anti-EM Screen Reinforcer I

        Tengu Offensive – Covert Reconfiguration
        Tengu Propulsion – Fuel Catalyst
        Tengu Engineering – Augmented Capacitor Reservoir
        Tengu Electronics – Emergent Locus Analyzer
        Tengu Defensive – Adaptive Shielding

        I would however ignore that fit! It was only done quickly, it is not useful enough for combat sites, and if you were just looking at Data or Relic sites, best to go with an T1 or T2 Exploration frigate.

        Note my fitting posts can easily be pulled apart by min/max’ers and are rarely optimal in that regard. I set them up more so that I enjoy flying them, than that they return the highest ISK/per hour ratio possible.

  1. Interesting ship and fitting. I can follow your reasoning. How do you have time to lock and scan all the containers when ejected? What’s your strategy there?

    • You don’t scan the little cans that spawn – you scan the initial Data or Relic container that you hack. If it tells you there is 1 Decryptor in it, you then just try to grab all the Parts containers and ignore the rest. It greatly increases the chance that you get the one item of any value.

  2. Pingback: Short term goals | Intellimoo's Corner
  3. I’ve got a question about your Tengu fit… do you see yourself using the salvager and tractor often? From the little bit of exploration I’ve done they don’t seem that useful because most of the NPCs are frigates which don’t salvage into much.

    Also, how much tank would I reasonably need? Your XL booster looks like massive overtank, what could I get away with? Are there are sites in which there are DPS spikes?

    • The idea of the ship is that you can explore a dozen or more systems without having to dock / swap to another hull – so it tries to do everything.

      You definitely want the Salvager for the Faction / Sentient / Overseer wrecks. The rest of the wrecks you can ignore.

      The tractor beam is not absolutely necessary – but useful in reducing the chance of someone rushing past you in a frigate and looting your faction spawn wreck.

      Don’t focus too much on the size of the booster. It is not cap stable and is set not to auto cycle. You just activate it when required, and get a huge chunk of your shields back. A smaller cap stable faction booster would have generally cost a lot more to purchase.

      There are only a couple sites that you can enter in Hi-Sec in a T3 that require any sort of tanking – Sansha Watch being one of them from memory. I could go a passive tank, or use a much smaller booster that can run for a few minutes. I went the X-Large route both for price, and to allow me to Zerg exploration sites if I want. Hit the triggers until the faction spawn, tank the room while looting, then warp off.

      • Thanks for the feedback. Looks like I should switch out my defensive subsystem to get an extra high slot at the expense of a mid then. I have a Pith A-type large booster that should work just as well and can drop the shield boost amp.

Leave a Reply

