Clean Out

I’m in the process of cleaning out my Corp Hangers.  In particular l am selling off some of the speculative buys which didn’t turn out to be quite the cash cows I’d hoped.  I am also sorting through the excess build ingredients laying around that I am unlikely to be use given my current Trading focus.  My Second Industry Alt is in Jita playing the 0.01 ISK game trying to selling some of the more unique items.

I hate dealing with trading bots – which I appear to be in some of these markets, so I resort to pettiness.

Put up sell order on 1 item for 10M ISK

Within a couple minutes a sell order with 40 items undercuts mine by 0.01 ISK

Update order several times over the day, but the 40 item sell order always undercuts it by 0.01 ISK within 5 minutes

Update order several times the following day at random times, but the 40 item sell order always undercuts it by 0.01 ISK within 5 minutes

Cut price by 1M ISK, possibly costing me 1M.

Within 5 minutes 40 item undercuts mine by 0.01 ISK, possibly costing them 40M isk.

Cut price by 1M ISK, possibly costing me 2M.

Within 5 minutes 40 item undercuts mine by 0.01 ISK, possibly costing them 80M isk.

Cut price by 1M ISK, possibly costing me 3M.

Within 5 minutes 40 item undercuts mine by 0.01 ISK, possibly costing them 120M isk.

Cut price by 1M ISK, possibly costing me 4M.

Within 5 minutes 40 item undercuts mine by 0.01 ISK, possibly costing them 160M isk.

Cut price by 1M ISK, possibly costing me 5M.

Within 5 minutes 40 item undercuts mine by 0.01 ISK, possibly costing them 200M isk.

Assuming they also have the winning buy order (they have the biggest stock of this item to sell), they would still be making a profit – but it has been cut by 62%.  I ran out of time – but will continue to drop the price while trying not to have them buy my item out.  I am then happy to leave that item up at the new low point to keep their profits down.  That is just the sort of thing which keeps me amused.

I am also in the process of cleaning up my Main Toon’s hangers, getting rid of ships he doesn’t fly, double checking fittings are still appropriate etc.  I’ve thrown most of his spares and collections in the one container to sort through.

ehimg265

A rough value of 10.7B ISK.  That is going to take me a while…

3 thoughts on “Clean Out

  1. I do something similar to bots all the time, though I don’t just lower the price, I drive the buy price up too.

    The trick is to keep it up, if you keep margins slim for long enough most of the bots will leave. And you can’t raise prices too much once they’re gone either because as soon as you do that they’ll be right back in there.

Leave a Reply

