Epithal

With my main focus this month being on my Wormhole travels, most of my other EVE activities have ground to a halt. I’d like to think that relates to my limited free time, but it might also be an inability to concentrate on more than one task at a time.

With my Main parked back at home and my Collector’s Edition assets stored away in the Pool Room (explained here for Non-Australian’s), it was time to visit the Epithal.

My Traditional PI ship has been the Iteron V. With Cargohold Optimization rigs and three Nanofiber Internal Structures in low, it’s relatively speedy and can carry just under 18,000m3. Enough room if I optimise the order of where I picked up and dropped goods off.

Both my PI Toons have Gallente Industrial V which gives their Epithal a PI Commodities hold of 67,500m3. Rather impressive. So how to fit?

The first thing is the Cargohold – I want it to be able to carry at least one Planetary Command Centre (1,000m3). With a bit of fiddling about I settle on two T2 Expanded Cargohold and a Medium Cargohold Optimization rig. That gives a normal Cargohold of 1,028m3.

That leaves two empty low slots. I could go a Damage control, but generally the risk of doing PI in Empire is pretty low. I settle on two T2 Nanofiber Internal Structures for an align time of 8 seconds, the same as my old work horse.

I want to fit a 10MN afterburner and a Large Shield Extender. I can get a large T2 Shield Extender and an Experimental 10MN Afterburner on with a Medium Ancillary Current Router fitted, which I do.

I have two mid slots left – and as I prefer a passive tank on my haulers, I select a T2 EM Ward Amplifier and T2 Thermic Dissipation Amplifier. The last rig gets a Medium Core Defense Field Extender.

The highs are easy – a Prototype Cloaking Device for when I have to go AFK, and a T2 Salvager, just because.

[Epithal, PI Play 01 – higher skill]
Expanded Cargohold II
Expanded Cargohold II
Nanofiber Internal Structure II
Nanofiber Internal Structure II

Experimental 10MN Afterburner I
Large Shield Extender II
EM Ward Amplifier II
Thermic Dissipation Amplifier II

Prototype Cloaking Device I
Salvager II

Medium Cargohold Optimization I
Medium Core Defense Field Extender I
Medium Ancillary Current Router I

ehimg279

10.7K EHP, 1K Cargo, 67K PI, 8s align, 415m/s with AB.

That works well enough on paper.

I then swap to my main Industry Toon and come up short on power grid. I swap the T2 Large Shield Extender for a Large F-S9 Regolith Shield Induction module. Power grid is ok now, but EHP drops to 9.2K. I am still happy enough with that.

I then swap to my secondary Industry Toon, and Power grid is blown out of the water. She also can’t fit the T2 shield tank items. For her ship I drop the Ancillary Current Router for a Core Defense Field Extender, use a T1 tank, and put on a T1 Salvager.

[Epithal, PI – Low Skill]
Expanded Cargohold II
Expanded Cargohold II
Nanofiber Internal Structure II
Nanofiber Internal Structure II

Experimental 10MN Afterburner I
Medium F-S9 Regolith Shield Induction
Upgraded EM Ward Amplifier I
Upgraded Thermic Dissipation Amplifier I

Prototype Cloaking Device I
Salvager I

Medium Cargohold Optimization I
Medium Core Defense Field Extender I
Medium Core Defense Field Extender I

ehimg280

5.1K EHP, 1K Cargo, 67K PI, 10s align, 358m/s with AB.

Skills do make a difference. Still – I’m happy enough with these, and they are an improvement over the Iteron V. I set about fitting them up and finally do my first PI run for the month.

I am quite pleased with the Epithal.  I will no longer get caught out with having to dock up mid PI run as I run out of Cargo space, and it is a worthwhile addition to my hangers.

2 thoughts on “Epithal

    • No – I’ve written an entry that I will post tomorrow on the rest of my T1 Industry review. Aside PI, there is an option for Ammo, Ore and Mineral holds. A fuel hold would have been far more useful than Ammo and probably mineral. I could see an Ore hold being useful for newer toons.

Leave a Reply

