Quick Access

I’ve played more EVE in the last week than I have played in the previous 3 months. I had a number of reasonably long sessions over Saturday and Sunday, which I spent running sites, mining, and looking (without luck) for wormholes out of the Empire Island.

Basically I hit a brick wall of exhaustion in Real Life, and I’ve been capable of little else but vegetatively staring at my computer screens. EVE has allowed me to recharge my batteries a little.

The location does however give me the ability to log in, find something to do quickly, and then log off again. I’ve remarked on it a couple times already, but this is a really big deal. I mean, really big.

I have to play solo because I am not reliably available to play the game with others, and I have to focus on short content as I am constantly interrupted. In my normal home system the resources are commonly depleted, so I find I log in, glance around, and then log off again. This happens more often than not, and that can build up to the point you get detached from the game.

In this new location there has always been some sort of content I can quickly interact with. I log in – actually do something, and then go deal with a child crying or throwing a tantrum. I feel as if I got my money’s worth out of the game.

I suspect this would be an area CCP would get a big player return on – spending a bit of time on fleshing out readily available mini content.

2 thoughts on “Quick Access

  1. Good to read you had more time to play than the usual as compared to the past.

    I’m just playing the Skill Queue and making Fuel game. Otherwise I barely find much motivation at the moment. The Pendulum has swung and Real Life at the moment just more important in things to do and get done. I’m sure at some point it will swing back.

  2. I’m enjoying the ‘log in, set up days worth of manufacture jobs, set up weeks worth of research jobs/frantically invent stuff’ thing. I like that industry progresses when you’re not logged in, because logged-in time is at a premium for me.

Leave a Reply

