Fanfest from afar 3

I’ve been reading through the blogs and EVE New sites for details of what was announced on the second day of Fanfest, particularly the Keynote. What I’ve been looking for are things that might impact my play style for better or worse, and new things to look forward to in game.

The goal of more frequent releases means a steady flow of changes in the game to adjust to. (I often spend a lot of time in game adapting to these.) We almost have that already with the regular major point releases, and I think it could work out ok. It requires CCP to have long term goals, disciplined development, and careful reiteration, which I think over the last couple years they have proven they are capable of.

Freighters and Jump Freighters will be rebalanced, including having the ability to fit rigs. While I don’t fly either hull type at the moment, I do like that they will get rig slots. That should have been done a long time ago.

Transports and Blockade Runners are also being improved. I have a number of such ships in my various hangers, so I expect I’ll need to review their fittings. With the various flexible T1 Industrials available, the Transport in particular is rarely flown.

With the previously mentioned mining hull changes (more fittings to be reworked), the last of the Industry hull related changes will be the addition of a T2 Venture, called the Prospect. This will be able to fit a Covert Ops Cloaking device, have 10K m3 Ore bay, and improved mining capabilities. CCP also mentioned that they would be making more Null sec ores available in Low Sec. (I presume in small volume). Depending on the hull cost, it seems like it could be perfect for Ninja mining. I’ve been saying for a long time that if you want to encourage Carebears out of Hi-Sec you need to give them the appropriate tools and the appropriate rewards for it. This is in line with what I was thinking. Now that it is on the horizon though I have the sudden fear – even realisation, it probably won’t modify the game style of many players.

There will be 3 new Pirate Faction ships – a Frigate, Cruiser and Battleship for Mordus Legion. I presume after time and rebalancing they will end up in the price brackets and with the usage pattern of the other Pirate combat hulls. The ships look interesting.

ehimg395
Garmur Frigate

ehimg396
Orthus Cruiser

ehimg397
Barghest Battleship

The Condor, Moa and Typhoon are getting hull redesigns. Each looks an improvement over the old. You shouldn’t underestimate the effect visuals have. I’ve been flying a skinned Caracal Nugoeihuvi Edition around Hi-Sec Anoms the last week just because I like the look of it.

I thought I also saw reference to the Orca and Rorqual to be rebalanced down the track to encourage them into the belts (encourage or forced), Stealth Bombers (interesting ships but very hard to fit at times), Recons (my favorite hull type) and T3. I can’t find where I saw that however – so don’t know how far into the future this work is.

Throw in some expected performance improvements, the already announced Industry changes, sound changes and different looking space assets, new ship skins, and I think that just about sums up the short term for EVE.

I am not trying to be negative here – and I would have missed plenty of what was announced, but there really doesn’t seem to be any game changing wow in any of this.

Dracken did remark here –

http://sandciderandspaceships.blogspot.com.au/2014/05/fanfest-fw-eve-keynote-and-not-charity.html

..that the future should involve ship customisation (work in progress), Corporation and Alliance overhaul (next), POS, Stations and Starbases, Sovereignity and Warfare, Stargate construction and control, and finally new space, new rules, new worlds.

I think some of those areas are well overdue to be re-worked. CCP also suggest it all sets the groundwork for future additions to the game. That is all well and good – but after years of iteration behind us, we now have years of iteration in front of us before anything really new will be available.

Oh well, it could have been worse, I could have been a Dust fan.

Leave a Reply

