No EVE time for me

Work has been hellishly busy. I’d like to say this is because of new customers or new projects, but instead it has been fighting fires and fixing mistakes caused by the offshore resources management have decided to use.

I’m barely managing one half reasonable play session a week at the moment.

Last weekend my Low-Sec scout found a useful wormhole to Hi-Sec, so I managed to move in some supplies, a Salvaging Destroyer and Venture between constant interruptions from work and family. This rather piddling result took some 10 hours.

This weekend I’ve been testing a few fits and doing some PVE. I’ve been playing around with a lot of Hawk fits for a while now – and while I have decided on a PVP fit I will leave in Low-Sec, I decided to give up on PVE fits. It is just too slow when compared to the Retribution when working through sites. I also decided on what I would do with the extra high slot on my Viators – which are getting Core Probe Launchers.

I probably shouldn’t be admitting it – but in the earlier years of my EVE playing I would be feeling rather grumpy and frustrated by now at my limited game time. I’d be throwing out “nose off to spite face” comments such as it is pointless to play the game in such circumstances. Now I accept it is not EVE’s fault, and try to appreciate whatever free time I do manage to wrestle from my busy life, and don’t dwell on it. It helps that I don’t have to feel guilt about letting down a Corp.

I was bemused by the Kronos 1.4 patch. The notes on the update were sparse, yet it required a 229MB download.

I was also bemused to see my name mentioned in Amarr local recently. Apparently I was paid out several 100 million ISK by one of the duplication scammers. I had the Window’s helpdesk call me for the 350th time recently, and I asked the person why they were using the same old scam, and couldn’t they come up with something more original each time they called. They just hung up. I wonder the same thing about EVE scams. In the grand scheme of things there isn’t as much variety as there should be.

7 thoughts on “No EVE time for me

  1. Unsure if it’s just me, but the rats in some missions seem to have had their aggression tweaked versus smaller targets. Lets just say that Dire Pith frigates seems to delight in swapping targets and eating your drones. Yes, this is despite using ECM….

    • Oh – and yes, the 20+K frigate rats always seem to switch to drones, same for the elite type cruisers. It gets rather tiresome swapping them in and out. Certainly slows things down to the point where a drone boat isn’t that viable when compared to lasers.

      • Am playing around with a Stratios fit for LS lone-wolf survival. Running sites, hacking things. Seems thats kind of the play style you do – do you happen to have a fit? 🙂

      • Oh I know that. Just saying that in certain missions, it may have become worse. I usually don’t lose any drones, but lost three or four in one particular mission (that I’ve run about a gazillion times) post patch. Might be adding two and two and getting seven though.

      • I fly the following in Empire – which is aimed to do absolutely everything without needing to refit. I would fit it a lot differently in Low / WH space.

        [Stratios, Standard Empire Jack of All Trades]
        Damage Control II
        1600mm Reinforced Steel Plates II
        Corpum C-Type Medium Armor Repairer
        Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
        Drone Damage Amplifier II

        Federation Navy 10MN Afterburner
        Data Analyzer II
        Relic Analyzer II
        Cargo Scanner II
        Medium Capacitor Battery II

        Sisters Core Probe Launcher, Sisters Core Scanner Probe
        Small Tractor Beam II
        Salvager II
        Quad Light Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Radio M
        Quad Light Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Radio M

        Medium Capacitor Control Circuit II
        Medium Auxiliary Nano Pump II
        Medium Anti-Explosive Pump I

        Drones to suit…

      • I wasn’t using drones in my testing on the weekend – I might give it a go and see if it looks like agro has changed again. I hope not – in some of the DED sites in empire I would have to use three flights of lights in the Stratios, having to swap between them constantly. If it was worse I’d start to lose them regularly.

Leave a Reply

