To the Gills

For the first time in many weeks I managed to log in and play a couple reasonable EVE sessions. The game seemed to be waiting right where I left it.

I started with a spot of exploration which yielded nothing much of value. I did find two Wormholes from Hi-Sec to Hi-Sec in the same system, which is a little unusual. I always look through these to see what opportunities they might provide. In this case they lead to systems 2 and 5 jumps away. Hopes for something interesting were dashed.

I haven’t had a chance to sit down and really look at the Industry changes – but I plan to anchor a small POS for a while to enable me to experiment with them. To that end I purchased fuel to run two small POS for a year.

ehimg407

Last of all, I spent my remaining EVE time looking at the fits of my two Gila Cruisers. They now have a 500% role bonus to medium combat drone damage and hit points, and the bandwidth to use two of them. I tend to find drone usage in PVE to be more hassle than it is worth, with far too much time lost recalling them over and over again. I didn’t hold a great deal of hope that 2 super medium drones would make that much of an improvement.

I ran some exploration sites, then a level 2 mission, then a level 3, and finally I ran the first level 4 mission I’ve done for quite some time. What a meaty little PVE ship. Turns out 2 super medium drones are, well, super.

Here’s the fit I ended up with. A bit of relatively cheap bling on it – and tanked for better half and kid interruptions.  A fun little ship with easy fitting options and changes.

ehimg406

 

 

 

 

[Gila, PVE]
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Beta Reactor Control: Shield Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Shield Power Relay I
Beta Reactor Control: Shield Power Relay I

Federation Navy 10MN Afterburner
Large Shield Extender II
Large Shield Extender II
Omnidirectional Tracking Link II
Pith B-Type EM Ward Field
Pithum A-Type Thermic Dissipation Amplifier

Heavy Missile Launcher II, Inferno Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Inferno Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Inferno Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher II, Inferno Heavy Missile
Small Tractor Beam II

Medium Core Defense Field Purger II
Medium Core Defense Field Purger II
Medium Core Defense Field Purger II

Hammerhead II x2

4 thoughts on “To the Gills

  1. I have been using a Gila since a little before the change, and i am quite satisfied with it. I use a similar fit to yours, but i use Augmented Hammerheads. The things are expensive (30M each) but are like 2 Assault Frigates.

    [Gila, Gila C]
    Drone Damage Amplifier II
    Drone Damage Amplifier II
    Drone Damage Amplifier II
    Drone Damage Amplifier II

    Large Shield Extender II
    Large Shield Extender II
    Experimental 10MN Afterburner I
    Thermic Dissipation Field II
    Kinetic Deflection Field II
    Omnidirectional Tracking Link I, Tracking Speed Script

    Prototype ‘Arbalest’ Light Missile Launcher, Caldari Navy Scourge Light Missile
    Prototype ‘Arbalest’ Light Missile Launcher, Caldari Navy Scourge Light Missile
    Prototype ‘Arbalest’ Light Missile Launcher, Caldari Navy Scourge Light Missile
    Prototype ‘Arbalest’ Light Missile Launcher, Caldari Navy Scourge Light Missile
    Drone Link Augmentor II

    Medium Core Defense Field Purger I
    Medium Core Defense Field Purger I
    Medium Core Defense Field Purger I

    ‘Augmented’ Hammerhead x2
    Salvage Drone I x2

      • So far i have tested it in Serpentis 3/10 and 4/10, and have no problem with the tank, but i try to mantain as much distance i can, and let the mini dog-of-war do their job, working on the aggro of the rats, and retreating them when they begin to take some damage. I still do not tried it in LVL 4 mission, but i think it can do it.

  2. [Gila, New Setup 1 copy 1]
    Drone Damage Amplifier II
    Drone Damage Amplifier II
    Drone Damage Amplifier II
    Power Diagnostic System II

    Large Shield Extender II
    Large Shield Extender II
    Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
    Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
    Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
    10MN Afterburner II

    Rapid Light Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Inferno Light Missile
    Rapid Light Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Inferno Light Missile
    Rapid Light Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Inferno Light Missile
    Rapid Light Missile Launcher II, Caldari Navy Inferno Light Missile
    Small Remote Armor Repairer II

    Medium Core Defense Field Extender II
    Medium Core Defense Field Extender II
    Medium Core Defense Field Extender II

    ‘Augmented’ Hammerhead x2

    Slightly higher fitting skill requirements on this one, but I’ve run several lvl4’s without dropping significantly below 50% shields – all that’s required is to maintain a bit of speed and range. Orbiting about 20-30km out usually works fairly well. Since Drone tracking is a little lower than other fits, use your RLML’s to clear frigs. The drones will tear apart anything larger. Since you’re orbiting well within drone control range, a link augmentor is not required. The small remote repper is for if your drones get tagged. Most of the time it will be off. Swap out one or two of the Invuln Fields for damage specific if you wish.

Leave a Reply

