Rattlesnake

I find myself running yet more L4 missions. No – I haven’t suddenly decided mission running is fun after years of disinterest – I am just testing the adjustments I have made to my Rattlesnake fit.

ehimg409

While I own a Rattlesnake, I don’t actually use it. It was a hull I lusted over in my earlier playing days that felt unreachable, so it pleases me to have it sitting around as an ornament. It is fitted however, so after it had a rebalancing going over by CCP Fozzie, I had to review it.

Like the Gila I looked at the other day, the Rattlesnake has an unusual drone role bonus, a 275% increase to Sentry and Heavy drone damage and hit points, and the bandwidth to use two of them. Unlike the Gila however, this didn’t feel particularly super.

I think it comes down to the heavy drones being too slow – particularly when you have to recall them over and over again due to rat agro. I settled on the tactic of deploying 2 Sentry drones and orbiting them at 500 meters. I cleared everything from a distance, and then swapped to a flight of lights to clear anything small that had got in close. The Sentries made particular short work of Cruisers and Battlecruisers – taking some variations out in one shot.

Again the fit is over tanked, so there is room to find more DPS. It worked – it felt safe enough to fly, and was relatively quick at clearing rats. It was just no Gila.

ehimg408

 

 

 

 

 

[Rattlesnake, PVE]
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Shield Power Relay II
Shield Power Relay II
Shield Power Relay II

Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Pithum A-Type Thermic Dissipation Amplifier
Gistum B-Type EM Ward Amplifier
Large Shield Extender II
Large Shield Extender II
Domination 100MN Afterburner

Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Cruise Missile
Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Cruise Missile
Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Cruise Missile
Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Cruise Missile
Cruise Missile Launcher II, Inferno Cruise Missile
Drone Link Augmentor II

Large Core Defense Field Purger II
Large Core Defense Field Purger II
Large Core Defense Field Purger II

Curator II x2
Ogre II x2
Hobgoblin II x5
Hobgoblin II x5

(I cannot overstate how important it is to test your fits in space. EFT shows numbers – but those notoriously don’t always relate to effectiveness or fun.)

 

* EDIT – I have since tried this fit with a Gecko.  While the Gecko is better to use than two heavies, I still felt the Sentries worked better.  You lose too much time waiting for the heavy drones to reach and return from the NPCs, so overall DPS worked out to be better with sentries.  Plus they are much quicker to swap in and out when you orbit them at 500m.

4 thoughts on “Rattlesnake

  1. The new Rattlesnake shines at running anomalies. You should aim to kill battleship rats using four volleys with fury cruise and the one Gecko will do the rest. Is highly recommended to web the small targets. You get ticks on par with Vindicator and Kronos.

Leave a Reply

