Foibles

Generally I don’t use the EVE launcher – instead I run the client executable directly.

The exception is when there was a patch. Since the launcher was introduced I found the direct client patching to be a bit unreliable, so when it advised me there was a patch to download I would cancel the session and run the launcher instead.

I noticed in the Crius patch notes this little comment:

“In-client patching system phased out. Game client no longer tries to use the legacy patch system and popups, players are rather directed to use the launcher to update their client.”

And this is what my client reports any time there is a patch to be applied:

ehimg415

Must be Icelandic for “Run the Launcher”.

I also noticed this in the patch notes:

“The guests station list count will now update when guests dock and undock.”

I’ve found since Crius that the Station Guest list is not accurate / doesn’t seem to update. I presume the Guest number though works.

What’s EVE without its quirks and foibles.

On a more positive note, CCP Seagull mentioned a couple times in her recent flurry of media interviews and the Reddit Ask Me Anything session that shareable overviews are in development and coming soon.

I did a little mental jump for joy.

 

4 thoughts on “Foibles

  1. I had the same issue. Several months ago, the launcher seemed to hang up about every other login. I switched to running the client executable and it worked great. I got a slightly different error than the above, but the effect was the same. No more client executable. I will miss it.

  2. My recommendation as living 6000miles away from the servers in Shanghai. Is this, that I don’t bother with the launcher or through the Client, but to run the repair.exe after a release or before running the client a few days after a release as this seems the most robust way to update. Launcher is too flaky and updating through the client never worked reliably for me.

    • Never thought of that as an option. The launcher still works for me – although since it switched to the P2P mode of deployment it tends to be much slower.

Leave a Reply

