Microsoft says No Eve for you

Another weekend passes with no opportunity to really play EVE properly.

I walked away from my desktop PC on Thursday night as it applied window updates. I returned on Friday morning to find the PC continually rebooting. It would start, indicate windows did not shutdown properly and did I want to boot into safe mode, pause for a bit, blue screen and reboot. It had been doing that continually for 6 hours straight.

Unfortunately I couldn’t boot into any of the safe modes as they all blue screened. I also didn’t have a valid repair disk for the service patch level of Windows 7. I unhooked almost all the hardware and ran memory tests, but nothing helped. Needing my desktop to work I resorted to buying a new SSD and windows 8. I hadn’t gone down the upgrade path to 8 as I really did not like Microsoft’s direction with it, but by now the third party tools to make it more useable as a desktop environment were well known.

So my Saturday EVE session was lost to re-installing a large volume of applications.

Now I know what the initial problem was: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2982791

Subsequent testing of the old SSD showed half a dozen or more of the core window dll files were visible but not accessible. I suspect 700+ reboots in a row probably didn’t help the situation.

Well played Microsoft, well played.  You got me to upgrade to Windows 8 after all.

One way or another, as Rixx Javix remarked, events in RL affect events in EVE. http://eveoganda.blogspot.com.au/2014/08/where-did-rixx-go.html

I did manage over the weekend to finish setting up my Hi Sec research and experiment small POS.

ehimg416

I’ll decommission the medium POS once the jobs running on it finish.

Leave a Reply

