Ghosts

I appreciate the updated skill queue. Obviously it makes it less likely that you will lose training time. For me however its biggest benefit is that it makes it easier to stay focused on training plans. I am less likely to get distracted and head off on a different tangent every time I update the queue because; well frankly I rarely update it.

It has however come with a negative consequence. I seem to pay much less attention to the new skills my characters are picking up. My main two characters can now fly the Bowhead and Confessor – but I haven’t theory crafted possible fits because I didn’t really notice when it happened. My main picked up Frequency Modulation V and Long Distance Jamming V, and now has Certification V in the Falcon, Blackbird and Griffin. I didn’t let out a bemused cheer because, well, again I didn’t notice.

Overall I think the longer skill queue is a positive change – but it might have made us a little less engaged with our characters.

I continue a fairly mundane routine in EVE. I log in, work on my BPO research, check my for sale market orders, maybe move more volume into the trade hub, and then do any of the exploration content in my home system. While doing this I am generally trying to keep up with the various bloggers I follow. I know it is not exciting, and I have wondered if I am only going through the motions because it is just the routine I am used to. I keep coming back however to the fact it is serving the function of allowing me to forget about Real Life for a period of time and get some valuable downtime.

Having to look at the markets daily again is wearisome. It is painfully apparent that the market for several of the items I am trying to sell off is controlled by bots. Day after day, morning, noon or night, every one of my price changes is undercut in between 5 and 10 minutes. I know you can be up against a no lifer, but the pattern on these items is so persistent and goes on the same way for week after week. It is in such stark contrast to the other 95% of items I am selling that I can’t believe it is not automated.

For all the commentary and interesting stuff CCP does to try and remove automation and RMT in EVE, it still doesn’t seem to be that hard to find your game being negatively influenced by it.

8 thoughts on “Ghosts

  1. Yes, you’re right on the money. CCP doesn’t seem to be interested in the market bots, even when EVE bloggers such as Merchant Monarchy detail personal experiences. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading about the Malma bot though, and have stood in awe at how CCP could allow that situation to continue. I guess CCP has their priorities, but choosing not to pursue such an obvious bot sure raises my eyebrows.

    If you haven’t followed the escapades, the link is below. Note that the likely botter has also created a propaganda blog of the same name.

    http://merchantmonarchy.blogspot.com/2014/12/immortal-bot.html

    • I follow that blog and that ongoing story. I expect it is not so much that CCP has other priorities, but that their toolset and evidence gathering is not sufficient to combat certain types of bots. As various bloggers and commenters point out, it is possible to automate the monitoring of market orders without being logged in, and the finger print of a market bot which logs in, changes an order and logs out again would be more difficult to capture than a ratting or PVP type bot. Still – I hope they continue working on catching this type of cheat.

      • The Malma bot doesn’t log out often. He’s pretty much always there 23.5/7 every day, all month, for years.

        I see strong evidence of bots in many regions, the reason I talk about the Malma is he’s the most blatantly obvious bot I know of. Part of the reason he’s so obvious is there’s really no other competition in the region besides him. Of course that’s probably only because his perpetual undercuts have already driven everyone else away.

      • Malma bot reminds me a lot of my old WoW nemesis Argabot.

        It took 2 years of vicious, cutthroat market PvP but in the end Argabot transferred to another server. I estimate Malma bot has at least 500 billion invested in Genesis buy and sell orders, probably more. I only have about 50 billion invested in Genesis atm but that number is slowly going up. Slowly but surely I’m squeezing Malma bot’s margins on his best, most profitable items thinner and thinner.

      • I find it is not uncommon for market bots to exist in out of the way hi-sec regions. It takes a special sort of OCD to combat them. The most obvious start is ensuring there is no profit margin for them. Start with their biggest margin items, work out where they are programmed to stop under cutting, and then sit just above that so they turn over their own stock for minimal profit. The OCD aspect comes in because it still takes you much more effort to maintain this sort of assault. The person behind the bot can set and forget. I am not surprised it took you 2 years to get rid of one in WOW.

  2. Previously the need to queue a skill wouild mean I logged in that character and then considered what I could do with that character before logging off. These days I first decide what I’d like to do and occasionaly make sure I have 50 skills queued in that character.

    • Sounds familiar. Checking skill queues used to be the first thing I did every day. Now I only check queues once or twice a week. Even then it’s mostly just taking a quick look at Evemon for characters with the shortest training queues and finding there’s nothing that needs doing right way.

  3. Re the skill queue change. I totally agree with the risk of becoming less engaged. Whilst the queue in it’s previous iteration could be a nuisance of sorts, it was a reason to log in, and check various other issues that may be playing out at that time. It’s still early days with this endless queue system but I still see the potential that a few months down the track there may be some people/characters who just drop off of the map.

    Perhaps that’s a good thing, a bit of pruning of players who’s interests are elsewhere (at that time), but it would be a shame if it led to a gradual bleed off of older (perhaps) players who would have otherwise continued their space careers, and who maybe would have become re-engaged.

    For my part, most of the skills I set were pretty long ones and so I would usually have 3+ weeks before the mandatory log in.

    I had thought that perhaps CCP could modify the endless queue to perhaps taper the training speed after a period of time, 6 weeks perhaps, (to allow those really long top end skills to go without penalty). An endless queue that tapered off it’s training speed after a designated period would still incentivise players to log in and get a dose of Eve without totally punishing those who couldn’t for log in for whatever reason.

Leave a Reply

