Raided to death

This week I got a series of emails from a work colleague as he wrestled with a catastrophic failure of a RAID array. Like me he has two decades of experience with backups and disaster recovery, but I didn’t like his chances of salvaging anything. The tone of his correspondence became more despondent until he was forced to admit defeat. I asked what he had lost, and was told his only complete collection of family digital photos.

I’m not sure about you, but the thought of that was quite confronting.

While I have a regimented backup regime at home across 3 different devices, they are in the one location and at risk from damage or theft. I spent the time I would normally be playing EVE this weekend procuring somewhat robust USB keys, and copying the family photos, videos and music collection to them. I will leave them with my parents the next time I visit, and update them once or twice a year. I’ll have four backups now.

ehimg461

While RAID technology is a given in the business environments I support, I never use it at home. For the last 20 years I’ve seen it fail more often and more ruinously than just straight configured drives. Don’t even get me started on the privacy and reliability of Cloud services!

I have still been playing EVE – although as mentioned not so much this weekend. My loot container value is now up to 650M, which means I’ve earnt 100M a week since I last looked at its value at the end of May. All I am doing is logging in every day or two, poking my nose out of my home station, and probing down and running sites that happen to be there. If there is nothing I’ve gone and done some mining. It still amazes me how much you can amass over time with relatively little effort, just by clicking on that undock button.

CCP’s recent Drifter summary blog was worth a read:

http://community.eveonline.com/news/dev-blogs/an-update-on-the-drifters/

Mark726 from EVE Travel did a great post about the complexes now available within the Drifter wormholes, which is also worth a read.

https://evetravel.wordpress.com/2015/06/19/drifter-complexes-barbican-conflux-redoubt-sentinel-vidette/

It seems to be outside the capability of me to explore this solo – even using an Alt. I continue to enjoy this NPC arc in the game anyway.

I have found one quibble with the new icons. I find it difficult to work out what I have locked and what I haven’t in the overview. That is probably more a consequence of non-scaling the client on a 28” 4K screen than the design, but I am hoping the changes they are looking at for the 90% UI scaling players helps me too.

As Splatus (https://splatus.wordpress.com/2015/06/20/winning-eve/) points out, winning at EVE can just be finding an acceptable level of activity that fits in with real life.

4 thoughts on “Raided to death

  1. With respect to photos and security, I used to have my own – fairly sophisticated – backup system but scrapped it in favor of Carbonite’s services. Yes, it’s expensive and yes and it’s a subscription but it just works. The basic version I have does not allow network drives to be backed up, so some clever moving of files means, I now back up from a USB drive attached to an old laptop.

    • Do you have a recommendation? After reading the fine print of some of the more public options (hello data mining), and seeing many customers have offsite services close overnight, or lose their data, or admit they had their systems hacked, I’m not inclined to put a great deal of faith in them.

      • I will ask my husband for a few. I understand security worries as well. But I find that I’ve taken to living in an in between state in these things. My images for instance backup to google pictures. I’m comfortable with that but I don’t have kids for instance and worry that google may use their image. I know that is a worry for some. I also use gdocs more and we have an internal backup server that just backs up particular files for us.

Leave a Reply

