I confess

My main distraction in EVE at the moment is (still) Hi-Sec exploration (with the occasional run into Low-Sec for certain escalations). Primarily I am clearing anomalies looking for Faction Spawn or Escalations, and scanning down Combat sites for Faction drops. It fits in well with my short and unreliable play schedule.

There is a lot of competition for these sites, so while I don’t like the min/max/zerg approach to gaming, it pays to find and clear each site swiftly.

Ideally you want a ship that:

. Is agile and warps quickly between systems
. Can use probes to scan down sites
. Isn’t impacted by any gate hull restrictions
. Can tank all sites
. Can lock small targets quickly
. Can one or two volley most of the small NPC’s you will face
. Has some flexibility to mitigate the NPC EW
. Has reasonable cargo space
. Doesn’t require frequent Ammo restocking
. Can salvage the Faction Wrecks
. Doesn’t need to refit to do all this

It is a long list – yet the Confessor does it all. While I am not particularly enamoured by its appearance, I have become a big fan of flying it. It recently triggered a Sugar style consolidation of the ships in my hanger, with my exploration Retribution, Phantasm and Worm all being repackaged, ready to be sold.

My current fit hasn’t changed much since I last posted it:

[Confessor, Explore]
Internal Force Field Array I
Heat Sink II
Heat Sink II
Coreli A-Type Small Armor Repairer
Coreli C-Type Adaptive Nano Plating

Coreli A-Type 1MN Afterburner
Cap Recharger II
Tracking Computer II, Optimal Range Script

Sisters Core Probe Launcher, Sisters Core Scanner Probe
Salvager II
Small Focused Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency S
Small Focused Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency S
Small Focused Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency S
Small Focused Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency S

Small Capacitor Control Circuit II
Small Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Small Auxiliary Nano Pump II

I generally fly in Sharp Shooter mode. With a scan resolution of 812 it locks most things within 3 seconds, and is able to hold a respectable 7 targets in total. I spit the turrets into two grouped pairs. It does 425dps out to 20km with Imperial Navy Multifrequency, and 246dps out to 60km with Aurora Crystals. It clears the lower end sites very quickly without the delays of drones or missiles.

My fit it is cap stable with fairly omni tank of 105dps, increasing to 158dps in Defence mode. I haven’t had issues tanking up to 4 out of 10 DED sites, although you have to pay attention to your position and speed in some.

Last of all I use the Propulsion mode to close on gates, containers or wrecks when the field has been cleared.

As I have said before, this “profession” in EVE tends to be a hit and miss on ISK pay outs, particularly if (like me) you don’t follow all the escalations (too far or into busy low sec systems).  I earnt less than 10M ISK for the last hour I’ve played today (very busy and already cleared systems) – but I earnt 120M ISK for 30 minutes work a couple of days back.  It is part of the charm of the activity.  The Confessor don’t guarantee a big pay day, but it makes the exploration process more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

