Lugging

Look back through the many years I’ve been playing EVE, my favourite solo style of game play was when I was roaming nomadically, living out of Orca’s.

I used to be able to carry around a collection of bling fitted ships, spares, and weeks of collected loot in an Orca with relative safety. That came to an abrupt end when CCP changed the cargo scan and then drop mechanics. All bays in your ship could now be scanned, with the contents having a chance of dropping when you were killed.

My mobile homes became an unacceptable gank risk, so I sadly sold most of them off and gave up on that style of play.

Encouraged in part by Sir Livingston’s example I recently decided that I would test the Confessor out against other NPC factions, and not just the Sansha that live around my home base.

With the Confessor turning out to be such a good all round ship for Hi-Sec Exploration – and being relatively cheap, it has opened the possibility of living out of an Orca again.

My standard travel Orca is fit has 414K EHP and allows me to do the 10 second MWD cycle warp trick, or the MWD + Cloak trick if I feel the need.

(Thanks Raziel Walker for the suggested fitting change, I hadn’t taken into account the Compact option available now)

[Orca, Roam]
Damage Control II
Reinforced Bulkheads II

500MN Y-T8 Compact Microwarpdrive
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
EM Ward Field II

Small Tractor Beam II
Salvager II
Improved Cloaking Device II

Large Transverse Bulkhead II
Large Transverse Bulkhead II
Large Transverse Bulkhead II

 

So I decided to do my Confessor experiments using a roaming Orca. Into the Ship Maintenance bay went the T3 Destroyer, a Salvaging Destroyer, Prospect, Retriever, Astero, and a Malediction that I use as a shuttle. The total hull prices are under 170M ISK, and even with fittings, the value of all of them is less than my Stratios.

ehimg462

I am now in Serpentis space, where I am finding the Confessor’s 112km targeting range in Sharpshooter mode readily handles the NPC EW dampening. I haven’t had much luck with drops as yet however, so it hasn’t been a profitable move so far.

4 thoughts on “Lugging

  1. As a small footnote. The ships in the maintenance can be scanned, but not their actual fitted modules.

    I do know that a fitted frigate can fit into the Fleet Hanger of a Deep Space Transport. As long as the T3 Des is under 60,000m³ (Transports L4) – this might be decent alternative.

    • That is an interesting tip. The Confessor as fit is currently 47,000m3, and will fit in my Occator’s current 60,000m3 Fleet hanger. It doesn’t really leave you room for much else, aside I guess loot. My Ostero is 16,500m3. You might be able to cart around 2 or 3 frigates if small enough. As it is I am carrying almost 400Km3 of ships in the Orca, to allow me to salvage or mine for a bit if I want.

    • I should have remembered to check that. Your suggested change works and improves the fit. I’ve updated the post and am about update my Orca. Thank you – appreciated.

Leave a Reply

