Flimsy but an excuse

Anyone paying attention will have noticed I’ve wanted to get myself a Nestor, but couldn’t come up with any sort of half plausible reason to do so.

Don’t judge me, but I’ve decided to use the Nestor to run the Faction Epic Arcs.

ehimg478

 Being fitted out in Jita 4-4

 

ehimg477

First flight

 

I’ve come up with a first draft PVE fit. I expect it will need to change after using it in practice. I’m not sure what to do with the second utility high slot for example. I thought maybe being able to repair my own drones would be useful, but locking time and delay until end of cycle for armor repair makes that problematic.

Here’s the initial fit I am trying.

[Nestor, Draft]
Damage Control II
Corelum C-Type Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Corelum C-Type Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Centus X-Type Large Armor Repairer
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Drone Damage Amplifier II

Gist X-Type 100MN Afterburner
Federation Navy Stasis Webifier
Sensor Booster II, Scan Resolution Script
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II

Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Small Tractor Beam II
Large Remote Armor Repairer II

Large Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Large Auxiliary Nano Pump II
Large Capacitor Control Circuit I

Curator II x5

It is a little more bling fit than usual for me – maybe around 60-70% of the Hull cost.

It is very quickly to align and warp, which makes it nice for a battleship to fly around. It has the 5,000m3 Fleet hanger , which makes it ideal for carrying different fitting options and doing chain quests where you have to keep moving (EDIT.. no it doesn’t – it has a 5K Ship Maintenance Bay.  No idea what use that is.) On paper it has 101K EHP, reps 746 DPS, and does with Curator’s 729 dps. That is closer than I expected to get to my Rattlesnake PVE fit, which has 133K EHP, reps 753 DPS and does 897 DPS with Curator’s.

I’ll have to fly it a lot more before I can know if I am on the right path with my initial fit.  While I like it so far, it does feel more of a gank target than I would normally fly.

5 thoughts on “Flimsy but an excuse

    • I picked up the SOE ship skin bundle a little while ago. To be honest I probably like the white better on this hull – but since I purchased the skin, I feel I have to use it!

  1. What epic arc will you start or do first?
    See you went with beam over pulse lasers(or artillery)? At least your drone bay is big enough that you can carry enough small/medium drones to take of stuff that gets too close to track and the web might help with that as well.

    If you don’t insist on jumping into the unknown it might be useful to check eve-survival/eve wiki to see what you are up against. Some of the missions can be painful if you are not expecting neuts or web/point/painters or (half) a dozen battleships at point blank range because you shot the trigger.

    • I am doing Amarr at the moment as it was closest.

      I tend to go Beam over Pulse for PVE as time lost closing distance always seem to outweigh the extra DPS. There is also lots of tracking disruption from the Sansha – so quickly being able to swap crystals means I can still hit things out past 50km even with my range disrupted by two thirds. I could fit launchers as an option – although they are slower than Beams as I have to wait for flight times. They – as with Artillery, require lots more cargo space for ammo (and have no bonus on the Nestor).

      So far I warp in, stop, drop sentries, take out BS, then release lights and web and clear up the smaller stuff. Tanking so far hasn’t been an issue. The most I’ve had so far though in a wave were 4 BS plus support.

      I’m using this as a reference: https://wiki.eveonline.com/en/wiki/Epic_mission_arcs

      I’ll adjust my fit as required.

      • Ah yes TD. I used a Gila to complete the Amarr arc last time and Golem or tengu before that.
        Mission + time rewards came out to about 40m isk, at the time dropped tags were worth another 70m isk and the implant was worth another 170m. Time to complete the arc in the Gila was little over 8 hours 🙂

        Looking at my notes (which I should really update, https://drive.google.com/open?id=1NUoU3rc8I0sviVEQAvBHWmiuAeJwyVO2j8WQsg_h8HM) it’s only at 1 gallente and 2 minmatar missions that I made a note about lots of incoming dps.
        So your Nestor should be ok.

Leave a Reply

