One Quarter Epic

It has been difficult to find time for EVE over the last few weekends. We had two big family birthday party’s including one interstate, family staying with us, and the interruptions to the normal schedule due to school holidays.

It has only been today that I have managed to finish up the Amarr “Right to Rule” Epic Arc chain of missions.

https://wiki.eveonline.com/en/wiki/Right_to_Rule

There was not much about the process which was Epic. The back story flip flopped a bit, the characters were not fleshed out enough, and they didn’t jump well from one suspect to another. The missions themselves were somewhat uninspiring. I think the Cosmos sites, stories and missions I’ve done are better. In fact, the Arc could have done with being a hybrid COSMOS type chain.

There were a couple of missions that really made me stop and consider my fitting. Some had notable neuting, so managing ranges (difficult when using sentries) and fitting the Cap Booster made a difference. I also had to carefully consider how to handle the final stage of the final mission – and ended up using a Microwarp drive to control distance and draw the main NPC Battleship away from the spawn point.

Overall it wasn’t a negative experience – I found it interesting enough and will probably re-run it in the future when the timer is up. I also liked how it didn’t involve quite as much travel as the Servant Sisters of EVE Epic Arc did.

All told I think I made around 300M ISK – more than half of which was from the final reward of an Imperial Navy Imperial Navy Modified ‘Noble’ Implant.

Somewhat annoyingly I did not get any standing updates for completing the chain. Doing some reading it appears to be a common issue, so I submitted a support ticket. I’m not expecting a response until after the weekend.

Of greater interest to me was how the Nestor went. I got through the whole chain with it– aside one courier mission that required a hauler, and another mission into Low Sec that only required the use of a shuttle. While I never got below 65% armor, you could lose the Nestor easily enough in a couple of the missions. There were some Veteran Battleships in the “Ascending the Nobles” which did more than 1,000dps combined, which the 750dps tank was not keeping up with. As long as you prioritised those ships there was plenty of armor buffer to cover you until a couple were taken out. There were also a couple missions with very nasty wave trigger sequences – that would easily have seen the ship lost if you messed them up. Having said that, most ships would probably be overwhelmed in the same circumstances.

The Nestor was a somewhat busy hull to fly. I needed to watch the Capacitor levels, particularly in the missions with neuting or where you had to repair drones or use a Microwarp drive. Having said that, I think I only used around 8 Cap Boost Charges across the whole Arc. There was a lot of tracking disruption so I had to regularly swap crystals, and you were forever pulling drones in and out or catching those taking damage so you could repair them. I also tractor beamed and looted wrecks that happened to be within 24km of me, which would not have helped with the feeling of being busy.

It was however a delightful ship to fly around. The main Battleship Hull I’ve flown in recent times has been the Rattlesnake. Mine has an align time of 11.9 seconds and a Warp speed of 2au. The Nestor looks much better on paper – with a 6.6 second align and 2.5au warp speed. In practice it felt even better than the stats suggest – feeling really nimble.

The remote repair range bonus often allowed me to leave drones out when they came under fire, letting them tank the damage and leave the DPS out on the field for longer.

The Dual Heavy Beam Lasers were more effective than expected. While on paper they only did 195dps to 39km and 113dps to 142km, that seemed to make a noticeable difference. They seemed to hit everything out past 30km, and were particularly effective with clearing the battlecruisers and sentries. Being able to fit Aurora or Radio Crystals really went a long way to still be able to hit something even when under heavy turret disruption.

I generally stuck with the T2 variations of the Curator Sentries, Acolytes lights or Infiltrators medium drones. They seemed to be able to clear everything in reasonable time frames. The default Drone control range of 57,000m was ok for almost all the missions – although I would sometimes have to agro using the Beams and wait for some spawn groups to get into range. I used a T2 Drone Link Augmentor in a couple of the missions towards the end.

I think however the biggest testimony to the ship is that I plan on keeping it in my hanger from now on.

I said I would use it across all the Epic Arc missions, but I think I might try a Marauder on the next one. I’ve never flown one of those yet.

ehimg483

ehimg481

ehimg482

ehimg485

ehimg484

The last two fits I used:

[Nestor, Epic Arc Mission – AB]
Damage Control II
Corelum C-Type Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Corelum C-Type Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Centus X-Type Large Armor Repairer
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Drone Damage Amplifier II

Gist X-Type 100MN Afterburner
Heavy Capacitor Booster II, Navy Cap Booster 800
Sensor Booster II, Scan Resolution Script
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II

Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Drone Link Augmentor II
Large Remote Armor Repairer II

Large Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Large Auxiliary Nano Pump II
Large Capacitor Control Circuit I

Curator II x5
Acolyte II x5
Infiltrator II x5

[Nestor, Epic Arc Mission – MWD]
Damage Control II
Corelum C-Type Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Corelum C-Type Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane
Centus X-Type Large Armor Repairer
Drone Damage Amplifier II
Drone Damage Amplifier II

500MN Cold-Gas Enduring Microwarpdrive
Heavy Capacitor Booster II, Navy Cap Booster 800
Sensor Booster II, Scan Resolution Script
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II
Cap Recharger II

Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Dual Heavy Beam Laser II, Imperial Navy Multifrequency L
Drone Link Augmentor II
Small Tractor Beam II

Large Auxiliary Nano Pump I
Large Auxiliary Nano Pump II
Large Capacitor Control Circuit I

Curator II x5
Acolyte II x5
Infiltrator II x5

They had a 746dps tank and did 729dps.  With AB it made 474m/s, and 1,271m/s with MWD.

3 thoughts on “One Quarter Epic

  1. Hi evehermit,
    I’ve been reading a lot of your blog lately and the more I read the more I find my playstyle similar to yours. I don’t like the idea of intended gameplay style being imposed on players by developers to maximise subscrition rates. As you, I prefer to play EVE on my own terms at the time which is most suitable for me. The constraints and potential benefits of being a part of some bigger picture like a corp or an alliance do not appeal to me. Plus, there must be something in my character which makes me a bit of a loner (though I wouldn’t call myself unsociable). As a result, while playing EVE, I’m trying to do a bit of everything which doesn’t involve interaction with other players. This brings me to the point of this commentry.
    I’ve been obsessed with idea of raising my standings with each major faction within the game for more than a year by now. I’d tried different approaches (data centres, chain agents, faction missions) and eventually settled on running major Epic Arcs every 90 days (I stay away from pirate arcs because they generate derived negative standings towards major factions). I’m close to finishing my fourth playthrough at the moment.
    After palying EVE for 2 years I wouldn’t pretend to be in the same league with you experience wise (approaching 37mil SP on my main character). The majority of my skills suck, escpecially my pilot and offensive skills and I think I’m completely PVP averse.
    However, if you are interested and willing to interact outside of this blog, I can share my observations re Epic Arcs. I’ve compiled a manual largelly based on Jowen Datloran’s work and eve-survival materials with some personal observations and in-game sreenshots (so I cannot claim any intellectual property over it). It is centred on my own playstyle (shoot from afar and avoid being shot) and maximises standings and monetary gains. As a sidenote, for example, you may have some issues with Caldari Epic Arc final mission “Across the Line” if you attempt to use your Nestor set-up. I wouldn’t call it impossible but it will take a lot of warp outs to complete it due to perma jamming and incomming torpedo DPS.
    My ingame character’s name is Bora Horza Do’Urden (mock me if you must, but wait until I tell you the names of other two characters). It is probably worth mentioning that, based on various clues from your blog, I am probably close to your age and live in Australia too.

    • G’Day Dan!

      I am not sure there is any other feasible way to increase all your faction standings across the board without running the Epic Arcs as you are.

      Nice effort on documenting them. Thanks for the kind offer for the detailed intel – but I’ll stick to just using the wiki until I have completed all of them at least once. I might compare notes if I decide to run them every 90 days.

      I wouldn’t be too focused on your pilot age or skill mix. Tactics and the way you fit and fly your ship is more important. Most PVP focused pilots, even with a fraction of my SP total, would likely run rings around me in combat.

      I will probably be using a Golem for the Caldari Arc – but I am worried about the jamming. With one ECCM the Nestor has a Magnetometric sensor strength of 70, where as the Golem only has 32 using one ECCM. But… the Nestor only tanks 746DPS where as the Golem manages 1520dps in Bastion mode. I’ll have to see how it goes with the Golem on earlier missions.

      I haven’t started the chain yet – I’ve been very unwell all this week, and this weekend I put aside for my once a year religious worship. (Watching the entirety of the Bathurst 1000 coverage.)

      • G’Day evehermit!

        My apologies for inadvertently almost spoiling your Epic Arc gaming experience. Just one thing. Caldari Arc is probably the most convoluted one. I made a mistake on my first playthrough. When a dialog window popped up to select a scenario branch, the default size of the window wasn’t big enough to display all three options. I didn’t realise I need to scroll down to see the last one and made my choice between the first two. But that is just me. You probably won’t have the same issue with your 4k hardware setup (I saw the picture you posted).

        I’m curios if sometime down the track I can pick your brain re applications of high faction standings for EVE solo playing style. I’m thinking about level 5 missions, but at this stage my knowledge is limited to what I’ve learned from these sources:

        http://www.reddit.com/r/Eve/comments/2svifb/a_small_guide_to_level_5s/
        http://www.reddit.com/r/Eve/comments/1vaate/level_5_missions/

        Looks like with faction standings above 7 you can “faction pull”, “cherry pick” and blitz.

Leave a Reply

