Not so recurring

A little unexpectedly (at least to me) CCP will be removing the daily SP opportunity during next weeks patch.

https://forums.eveonline.com/default.aspx?g=posts&m=6539629

There was a big bump in the number of people who killed an NPC when they were logged in, but there was very little change to login behaviour.  (That’s the pattern I followed.  It certainly did not make me log in, but I used it when I did.)

I understand CCP’s approach and reasoning.  Hopefully the information CCP have learnt helps make future opportunities better.

Meanwhile I gave my study an upgrade today – a couple small Dell 22″ IPS 1920 x 1080 monitors.  I’ve been wanting more screen real estate for things like displaying Dotlan while playing EVE, IM windows, music videos, background TV shows, twitter feeds and the like that I wanted to keep half an eye on but without impeding what I was doing on my main screens.

ehimg563

My wife’s first reaction was “Oh good god, that’s suitably offensive”.

ehimg564

Apparently she can see one of my ears from the study doorway, so I am not completely hidden.  There are some annoying “quirks” with having mixed resolutions of 3840 x 2160 and 1920 x 1080 with different scaling between them.  I am learning some of the tricks to smooth these, but I don’t think I can fix them all.  (Particularly around Icons and text sizes on the smaller monitors.)

5 thoughts on “Not so recurring

  1. God I hope you’re solar powered 🙂

    Dunno how people manage to play Eve so intensely they need extra screens, I run two accounts, have your usual Dotlan/EveHQ/mapping/Dscan tools/whatever up and still spend half my time reading the Guardian. Must be missing out on something 🙂

  2. WOW… nice setup. I have 3 monitors at work. I do have three at my new home PC desk, but 2 are laptops. One, my good Win10/8GB system has a 22″ monitor I play the game on and the main laptop screen is for meta apps, web sites, TS3, etc. The 2nd laptop, my old XP/4GB box, is for, well everything else… creating/editing graphics, other sites, blogging etc.

    Feels a little like “How do YOU EVE?” post… =]

    My setup.

      • LOL yea… 2 Quake figures, a Deadpool DVD, a Masterchief figure, Po’s X-Wing, 4′ of belted .308, a deactivated grenade, a stack of spare hard dives… plus the rack on the wall… yea it’s eclectic, and it’s home. =] (There’s another pic on my imgur that shows the desk and the whole wall rack…)

Leave a Reply

