10 years and 1 day

While I have mentioned it a number of times over the last few months and it has been at the back of my mind, I managed to forget that yesterday was my 10-year EVE Anniversary. I don’t think I even logged in.

It must have been a good few months for EVE around a decade ago – a number of Bloggers I follow have also recently hit the 10-year mark.

I find it extraordinary to think a computer game has managed to hold my interest for such a long time. Up until the last few months I have played fairly consistently. I guess that is the power of a good MMO – above and beyond what most PC, Console or Mobile games are able to achieve.

Looking at the API information on my Main Account, it has logged in 6,414 times for 8,849 hours. That equates to 1.75 logins and 2.4 hours of play per day across a decade.

That is noteworthy even without considering that I’ve had up to three Alt accounts active. My main Alt Account for example has been logged in 3,362 times for 2,414 hours. Even assuming the majority would have been concurrent with my main, it paints the picture of a considerable time investment put into playing EVE.

On top of that would have been a substantial number of hours spent reading, writing, listening and watching EVE related media across all the different sorts of online platforms you find it upon. That would add up to a, well – shocking amount of time.

What the hell have I been doing? What might I have achieved in life if I had not invested so much in an imaginary world? Remind me never to mention these statistics to my wife – I am sure there would be grounds for a divorce in amongst them.

EVE has given me three things. First is entertainment – a distraction and downtime from the stresses of life. The second has been – even as a solo focused player, a community. A common shared interest with thousands and thousands of other people. The last is a little more difficult to explain – it has given me a platform to learn more about myself and people in general. That probably comes across as too cerebral, but as I have written about on this blog, there are many interesting aspects to how we interact with and through this game.

So what does a 10-year-old, unfocused, jack of all trades master of none EVE character look like?

You can see it for yourself here:

http://eveboard.com/pilot/Elmis

194 odd Million Skill points across 399 skills – 204 at level V.

I am not sure what the future holds. A nice round 200M SP for starters.

12 thoughts on “10 years and 1 day

  1. EVE is pretty extraordinary place. In addition to the three things you mention (Entertainment, Community & Insight), all of which I experience via EVE too, I would add that there’s an amazing dependability to it. 10 years of enduring existance (seven years in my case), is no small thing. EVE, for me is more than just a vacation, it’s a vocation. And I find I’m OK with that. EVE can be a serious endeavor worthy of serious exploration. CCP sometimes likes to call EVE a living work of science fiction which, for me, begins to capture how wonderfully, long term, intriguing and rewarding it can be.

    • Dependable is an interesting term. It might say more about me than EVE, but I’ve never really thought about it in that way. A living work of science fiction however sums it up well.

    • If you are using EVEMon:

      . go to Tools > API Tester
      . Select AccountStatus for the API Method
      . Under “Use Internal Info” select your character
      . Look for logonCount and logonMinutes

      I was disturbed by what I found.

  2. Yeah, the EVE time suck is also something I bump up against.

    Trouble is I’m not one of those driven people. Once I reached a comfortable station in live there is/was little incentive to use the time productively. A pity for human kind as expounded by Clay Shirky in his book Cognitive Surplus (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_Surplus)

    This is the idea that humans now have a lot of free time available and would use it to create an explosion of growth and ingenuity… Of course instead of that happening people are spending their time watching TV and uploading selfies to social media.

    Against that back drop EVE almost starts to feel like a productive persuit.

    As an aside, why is it that people that criticize gaming and gamers as a waste of time get to watch 70 hours of TV a week and that is somehow ok?

    • Cognitive Surplus is an interesting, hopeful idea. I think however free time has been so effectively consumerised (not sure that is a word) that it doesn’t work out in reality.

      I have felt guilty in the past about the time I have put into gaming. I have got the balance wrong. Now I make a point of ensuring I get value from my game efforts – primarily downtime and entertainment, while not negatively impacting my real life responsibilities and relationships.

      I do note it can be a pastime that is criticised – but why is it any more frivolous than reading books, watching TV shows, or all the other hobbies and interests that provide rewards that are just as intangible and unproductive.

  3. 2006 was a time of serious growth in New Eden and a bunch of us seemed to stumble into the game around then. It was about the time when EVE was actually ready for an influx as well as being a time when MMOs in general were a thing and a lot of people who played EQ or WoW or SWG were looking for something in the genre that was a little different. EVE remains the odd ball in the MMORPG group to this day. So much has changed in a decade, yet EVE remains… not unchanged, but not changed enough to be unrecognizable when compared to the 2006 version.

    Happy 10th!

    • Thanks AD. You certainly do make connections through blogging, although sometimes you don’t realise it. I will occasionally have someone message me to say they have been reading the blog for years, but who has never commented.

Leave a Reply

