Tantrum

I did something I haven’t done in quite some time – I “threw” a game down in disgust and walked away. I had a run of 8 straight battle losses in World Of Warships. Only one of them even looked like a win – but we managed to snatched defeat out of the mouth of victory by not staying in the cap zone.

I am finding Tier 5 ships, especially Cruisers, to be very frustrating to play. I haven’t found a way to be reliably effective in the Tier 5 to 7 battles. I have lost count of the number of times I have been one and two shot off the map by some Battleship 437km away from me, or had some Carrier pilot find me in the first 30 seconds of the game and perfectly bracket me on all four sides with 214 Torpedoes.

Yes – much frustration.

I went back to (lower tier) Battleships to get some idea on how I should try to avoid these quick deaths – but I can plink away at a broadsided cruiser all day and rarely get a citadel, yet it seems almost every bracket that lands on my Cruisers take 15,000 to 20,000 hits. I can twist and I can turn, I can follow the tactics of the ships I myself can’t hit at range, but I’m still getting nailed time after time.

Yes – those are tears. Enjoy them if you wish, they don’t seem to have the same impact in World of Warships as they do in EVE.

Some of this is bad luck. I always seem to end up in the numerically inferior force when running down a flank or towards a capture point. Some of this is me not listening to my inner voice. It is common for my last thought before being sent to the bottom to be along the lines of “This is probably not a good idea”. I am also, obviously, making mistakes. When you are advancing and dancing in and around Islands, you need to think about your next 3 or 4 major changes in direction, else you stumble unable to maneuver out into the open in front of the entirety of the enemy force. Still – and this is the crux of my frustration, it feels like my game play is being punished too harshly.

After starting the day 0 wins and 8 loses and walking away, I came back to complete a further 11 battles. I came away with a more respectable 7 wins and 4 loses. In a number I managed to keep my low health Cruisers alive and causing damage for far longer than I had a right to, and in three Destroyer battles I managed to accumulate 5 Carrier kills.  That included a very satisfying pair that involved dodging multiple attacks then firing a Torpedo salvo from one side of the ship at one, then immediately a second salvo from the opposite side at a second, sinking both.  I then got sunk by one of the Carriers torpedo bombers after getting myself aligned perfectly to escape them, then somehow hitting the full ruder turn and killing myself.  Never mind.

4 thoughts on “Tantrum

  1. I specifically worked my way up the lone of American cruisers. Currently at the Cleveland, VI tier. I currently prefer the feel of operating the Omaha (tier V). Tier IV with the top-heavy, slow-reactive propulsion, and thin-skinned, citadel in a wicker basket was my headache to play out. I see no favor to use the Cleveland much more to step up to the Pensacola… Aside from a slightly heartier main gun caliber. Not sure if that gun advance would come with a better shell velocity. The slow lob of the Cleveland guns gets me numb real quick. I’m now stepping back to try my hand at an entry-level tier II DD, Sampson. Going all American. I am enjoying the challenges and new developments to be found in WoW.

    • Argh, don’t tell me the Cleveland is worse!

      The short range torpedoes of the American Destroyer line are initially a bit frustrating, but they force you to think more about ambush options, and – through necessity, make you realise there are Battleships and the like you can actually solo out in the open. (If they don’t have friendly support, and especially if their guns start out pointing in a different direction.) I also like the guns more on the American than Japanese Destroyer line – at least they can tend to traverse as fast you your ship turns, meaning you stay on target more which makes it more fun to play at close quarters. Good luck with them.

      • Thank you for your reply. The thing that I had researched and read about ahead before I came to the next tier of the Cleveland cruiser was that there would be a noticeable way in which you would have to put a tremendous amount of visual lead on your scope in order to aim the low velocity hang time of shots taken out to its range of fire. So, I sure did once I was in battle. And, it seems that it is best to just load HE and benefit on having the Cleveland having 12 barrels if letting loose set as full broadside. Just try to lob shot over land as a sniping method. At nearer to close range, it seems wise to just stay with HE as well all the way. Since again, the muzzle velocity and relatively small caliber at this tier (6″ or 152mm) mains just seams to plunk off hulls too often. Cleveland class also does away with any torpedoes, as I think American cruiser line never sees torp. launchers ever again from now on. Reverting to drive a DD seems to be a good thing for my case now. Benefits swift shifts of tactical aggressive moves! And, I think WoW update now responds to reconnaissance spotting, etc. All good. Fair seas ahead.

  2. Omaha and Cleveland are good ships. Pensacola is a big floating citadel.
    I prefer the faster german and russian shells over the us shells that have these big arcs and flight times.

    Had 3 days of bad games where I got punished for pushing agressively on domination maps.

    Tier 4-6 are the best to play as you don’t get massive repair bills.
    And I really don’t like facing all those scharnhorst, gneisenau and bismarcks.

    http://www.wowstats.org/stats/eu/raziel_walker/
    22% survival chance 🙂

Leave a Reply

