Mining Gank Math – Part 1

I still want to be able to mine on occasion, but I expected with my new home location being so much closer to Jita that it would be a riskier proposition. I thought I would spend a little time and try to quantify how much so.

First I reviewed the kill stats for the main systems I will likely be mining in. While Killboards are not fully accurate, it is a starting point. There was only one mining ship reported as suicide ganked in my home system over the last month – a Retriever that fell victim to 6 Goonswarm Federation members in Catalysts. It was the same story next door – a different Retriever that died to the same 6 Goonswarm members.

Looking back further than a month shows similar low numbers of deaths. While I had already looked at these statistics before moving here, it still surprises me.

Arguably I could just ignore the threat and do what I want. I’d more than likely suffer no consequence.  That is not however the way I play the game. So, the next question is how easy is it for someone with nefarious intentions to gank me in a belt?

I started by looked more generally at Mining Barge and Exhumer deaths in Hi-Sec. There were plenty of Suicide Ganks, but not as many as I was expecting. Most were in 0.5 and 0.6 systems, most victims were in Retrievers, Mackinaws and Hulks, and it usually only took 2 or 3 Destroyers to kill them.  Only 2 or 3 doesn’t sound like good odds.

Playing solo, I have three defenses against Suicide Ganking. Blind luck, vigilance, and tanking the damage until CONCORD turns up.

I used both a Retriever and Mackinaw at times in my old home system – but it had a 10th of the traffic that my new system has. It was easy to keep track of who was coming and going. That is not possible in my new home, so I’m going to have rely on luck or tanking.

The reality – reinforced by the examples on the Killboard, is that I won’t be able to tank the Retriever or Mackinaw well enough. They make easy and juicy targets. Instead I will have to focus on my trusty Procurer and Skiff. They don’t appear as ganks on the Killboards anywhere near as often.

Next I need to work out roughly how long it takes for CONCORD to arrive to save me, how much damage the common Gankers do, and how many of them would be required to overwhelm my tank before CONCORD arrives.

Overall there are three response times for CONCORD.

The first is if CONCORD is already within 150km of you. Simplistically attackers will only get off one shot before CONCORD jams them. To one shot a tanked Procurer or Skiff would require a collection of high alpha damaging ships. If they have enough of them, there is nothing you can do about it.

The second response time is when CONCORD has yet to be summoned to the system since the last downtime. (When they are cleaned up.) This time is based on the security level of the system. I would have thought this information would been well known, but none of the 5 sources I was working off fully matched. I erred towards the worst-case, and used the following in my calculations.

1.0 – 6 seconds
0.9 – 7 seconds
0.8 – 8 seconds
0.7 – 10 seconds
0.6 – 14 seconds
0.5 – 19 seconds

The third response time is if CONCORD has already been summoned to the system, but is not within 150km. A common instruction for Suicide Gankers is to prep CONCORD by getting them to move away from the location you will be griefing. You see this regularly on the Killboards.

Griefer kills Suicide Target in a Belt
CONCORD kills Griefer in Belt
CONCORD soon after kills Griefer in a Rookie ship at a Station / Customs Office etc
Griefer kills another Suicide Target in the Belt

Here again I see different suggested impacts, but +6 seconds was the most common. So:

1.0 – 12 seconds
0.9 – 13 seconds
0.8 – 14 seconds
0.7 – 16 seconds
0.6 – 20 seconds
0.5 – 25 seconds

In my 0.8 systems, that means I might be under attack for up to 14 odd seconds.

When it comes to the damage Suicide Gankers do, how long is a piece of string?

I looked at the most common hull and fit used, which generally was this:

[Catalyst, Common Gank Fit]

Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II
Magnetic Field Stabilizer II

Initiated Compact Warp Scrambler
Alumel-Wired Enduring Sensor Booster, Scan Resolution Script

Light Neutron Blaster II, Void S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Void S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Void S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Void S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Void S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Void S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Void S
Light Neutron Blaster II, Void S

Small Hybrid Burst Aerator I
Small Processor Overclocking Unit I
[Empty Rig slot]

I was a little surprised at the value of the hull. This is a common setup used by CODE. It sets them back around 10M ISK a pop, minus whatever they can salvage from the wrecks afterwards. However, in reading they apparently offer a reimbursement of the cost.

The Sensor booster and scram are swapped in and out at times, but the rest of the fit tends to be the same.

Assuming a perfectly skilled pilot applying full damage, this fit does 667 DPS overheated in Pyfa. That is what I based my calculations on.

Blasters do Kinetic and Thermal Damage. The different T1 ammo types impact range – the longer the range, the lower amount of damage they do. Eyeballing it, the damage seems split 60% Kinetic, 40% Thermal. The T2 Void Ammo does a little more damage than antimatter, and interestingly has a 50% Kinetic / 50% Thermal damage spread.

The Procurer and the Skiff both have slot layouts and base statistics that lean them towards Shield tanks. The stock resists in both ships are better against Kinetic than Thermal. That in turn seems to make Void the most effective blaster ammo against them. Makes sense why it is used.

The third variable is how much tank do I have against this ship, and how many perfect skilled and damaging Catalysts will be required to beat CONCORD in time and gank me. That will be my next post.

4 thoughts on “Mining Gank Math – Part 1

  1. That old adage about I don’t need to outrun the bear, I just need to outrun you holds true. Esp in systems where there is a lot more traffic or competition. Usually, all you need do is be better tanked than others. Any buffer at all is a good thing. In all the hours I ice mined, no one took a shot at any of my alts. Did you look at the alpha for howitzers by the way? The DPS is lower, but the alpha is higher. Tunable damage, and no cap required to fire. Given you may only get one shot off before concord arrives, I could see the potential for more use the higher the security of a system. Alternatively, a number of them used to volley through a targets EHP.

    • I did look at Alpha damage, and extra buffer tanks, and trying for passive instead of active modules. There were some interesting options, but generally required a lot more expensive fits. I just stuck with the lowest common denominator.

  2. This is a fine example of what I would call near perfect EVE solish play Hermit. It’s kinda like being single in the big city. Yah, you’re not married with family but there’s still other people all over the place and you still have to navigate them. I don’t happen to mine much but I do work the markets meaning offshoring through slowly evolving neighborhood Citadels is something I keep an eye on to stay competitive. In both cases you’re eyeballing those around you. One to conduct business with and the other who not to. For us solish players it can be a very manageable (and enjoyable) arms length interaction.

    • Alternatively, it could be a clear sign of unhinged paranoia.

      It is a common and easily bantered around view that playing EVE solo is bad. I think however people mistake solo play as playing in isolation. I play with consideration of the tens of thousands of people around me. I play a massive multiuser online game. I’ve come across many people in Corporations who are only playing a multiuser game.

      I can understand why to be competitive you have to use Citadels – but you are a braver man than me. I won’t even buy something from them unless I have docked there first.

Leave a Reply

