Mining Gank Math – Part 2

So now I (think I) have a basic idea on how common mining suicide ganks are locally, how quickly CONCORD comes to help, and the DPS of the common ganking hull. The key timings I have to survive are 8 (fresh CONCORD response) and 14 seconds (prepared CONCORD response).

The last step is looking at my tank – starting with the Procurer. This is the standard fit I’ve been using for a while.

[Procurer, Basic]

Mining Laser Upgrade II
Mining Laser Upgrade II

Survey Scanner II
EM Ward Field II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II

Modulated Strip Miner II, Veldspar Mining Crystal II
Modulated Strip Miner II, Veldspar Mining Crystal II

Medium Core Defense Field Extender I
Medium Core Defense Field Extender I
Medium Core Defense Field Extender I

Assuming VOID ammo, I created a damage Pattern in Pyfa for the Suicide Catalyst of 50% Kinetic / 50% Thermal damage, and applied it against the Procurer.

This gave it an EHP against the Catalyst of 58,551 and a Shield regen of 52.

(I know Shield regen is not linear, I’m just using a simple and basic allowance for it.)

So, using the basic calculation of

EHP / ((DPS x Number of Catalysts) – Shield Recharge) = time in seconds

ehimg603

I found it would take a minimum of 7 Catalysts to gank me in an 0.8 system if CONCORD had been prepared, or 12 if not. Overheating my tank, that increases to 8 and 13.

I guess that quantifies the risk. What does that really mean?

Thinking back at all the Killboard examples I looked at, while most of the ganks were by a small number of Griefers, it was common enough to see examples of a dozen or more Catalysts being used. My fit is probably safe enough.

Using all this new-found knowledge, I revisited my fit with view of adjusting the tank for Catalysts. What happened if I swapped the EM module out for Thermal, or Kinetic, or how about a Thermal, Kinetic and Adaptive Invulnerability? Turns out the last combination was the most effective.

That gave me an EHP of 80,418 and a shield regen of 81. Quite a jump. This small fitting change increased the minimum Catalysts to 9 and 16 respectively. Overheated, 12 and 21.

I tried different fits – with a Hull tank / rigs instead of shield. It gave the same sort of results but with a yield loss. The last big boost came from fitting a damage control but losing one of the Mining Laser Upgrades. That gave an EHP of 97,581, shield regen 93, for 11 and 19 Catalysts. Overheated, 14 and 25.

[Procurer, Basic 2]

Mining Laser Upgrade II
Damage Control II

Thermal Dissipation Field II
Kinetic Deflection Field II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Survey Scanner II

Modulated Strip Miner II, Veldspar Mining Crystal II
Modulated Strip Miner II, Veldspar Mining Crystal II

Medium Core Defense Field Extender I
Medium Core Defense Field Extender I
Medium Core Defense Field Extender I

A minimum of 14 to 25 Catalysts to take out a 41M ISK ship and fitting. That seems a reasonable trade – and quite an increase from the original 8 to 12. More than 75% more effective.

This is the sort of thing I like about EVE. The complexity, the lack of certainty, how just a little bit of extra knowledge and a small tweak can make such a big difference. I’ll probably have someone point out a fatal flaw in my thought process. Until then – I’ll enjoy the little eureka moment.

To be honest I’m a fairly lightweight EVE player. I don’t see all the nuances, tricks and optimal approaches that some players seem to do naturally.  What a lucky gift they have.

Now I’ve publicly said where I’ll be mining and how my ship will be fitted. It will be easy to fit a counter and gank me. Probably not the brightest of my ideas – but I’ve seen my blog stats of late, so I figure I’ll be safe enough.

I was going to also look at the Skiff – but it isn’t necessary. A similar approach to fitting and some T2 rigs, and it can take more than 18 to 31 perfectly skilled and flown Catalysts to take it down.

The next step is to look at Alpha ganks and different sorts of DPS ganking ships and damage patterns – but I’ll stop with this.  It’s only a Procurer after all.

 

8 thoughts on “Mining Gank Math – Part 2

  1. I know a better tank and you can safely mine even in 0.5 with a retreiver. Its called the permit tank. Basically you stop trying to destroy eve with your bot-aspirancy and you become code-compliant. One that holds a permit and follows the code. Will not have to resort to depressing mining yeilds by running a procurer or skiff with expensive tank modules. Praise james \o/

    • I’d have thought a true code follower would not have had the stomach to read my blog.

      If I was mining for yield or profit I’d do things differently, but I mine more because I am told not to. I’m recalcitrant like that.

      But praise to James. He had a direct influence on my game and I spent several enjoyable hours carefully considering the equation of where losing my ship would provide me an acceptable level of entertainment.

  2. After November 8th, the Orca will have production similar to that of a mining barge, why not mine in that and not have any concern about ganking?

    • There will always be reason to be concerned about ganking – as all the Orca’s on the Killboards attest. I will however certainly look closely at the option. No reason I can’t have several mining ships in my hanger.

  3. I would swap the survey scanner from fit#2 for a named medium shield extender. There is enough grid for it. With maximum fitting skills I have squeeze in two named. But three invuls + medium shield > 2 invuls + 2 m.shields. (go figure?!) 5% bonus to ship shield hitpoints – may as well play into the ship’s strengths.

    Also to consider, the forth coming November release will increase the effectiveness of mining drones. I would not bother with a drone mining orca. It’s slow to move, slow to warp, prohibitive price tag and mines less. It’s only advantage is its ore holding ability.

    With the introduction of mining NPCs and significant weight on the balance shifted towards null – I wonder if the days of high-sec mining are numbered. (or at the least be able to draw a decent income from the activity). Meanwhile access to Outer Ring Excavations LP store and BPO remain null-locked.

    • The goal wasn’t to maximise the tank – but to check if there was a better balance. A 10% odd drop in yield to make it 75% harder for a Catalyst to gank it was an unexpectedly nice outcome.

      I find the Survey scanner important. I would drop a Mining Upgrade before it. It adds an extra manual process to your mining – makes you do maths and stop the last cycle of the mining laser early, reducing wasted time. On smaller asteroids in particular it is worth more than a 10% increased yield for time.

      I don’t expect I will mine in my Orca, but I will review the changes when they go live.

      I don’t think the day of the Hi-Sec miner are numbered. I do think if they want to use the full choice of mining hulls, that they will need to get out of Hi-Sec to do it.

  4. Dear Hermit,
    a mining permit never keeps a ganker from firing his guns at you. There are plenty of reports about permit holders getting shot at.

    Aside from that that, even your first numbers don’t take the isk war into account. Isk wise it’s not proficient to gank a 41M Procurer with 6 Catalysts for each 8M. Such ganks happen, but very seldom.

    Since you defined your new home already my last point is the least important, but there are many Systems, where i mined totally afk for weeks in a row, even with untanked Covetors. They’re just not as close to Jita.

    Thank you for all the nice writings, i hope hisec will bring you some fun in eve again.
    I’d love to read many more of your insights about your point of view on eve.

Leave a Reply

