200

I do not consciously read the odometer in my car – but every so often I will suddenly be drawn to it just when it passes a milestone. A nice round thousand, all the same number, a repeated pattern or the like. I assume you subconsciously see it as you check your speedo, but your brain doesn’t bring it to your attention unless it is unusual.

It tends to be the same with my EVE skill points. Today while checking my Jump Clones I was unexpectedly drawn to my skill point total, which had just trundled past 200M.

Not that long ago I would have met this with a bit of fanfare and a touch of excitement. With the arrival of Skill Injectors however the feat seems to have much less meaning. In fact – after I had loaded some SP from one of my Alts (to “transfer” Empire Control V), I’d felt somewhat like I had cheated.  Maybe 200 is not really 200 yet.

My EVE activity at the moment is probably best described as pottering. I continue consolidating my assets, most recently clearing out duplicates in my Memorabilia container. I do like being so close to Jita though – being able to quickly sell off surplus stuff, and to pick up fittings I am missing. I also updated another ship fitting in response to my likely more dangerous new home – fitting a Hull tank to my Noctis salvager. I’ve also fitted up and been running some exploration content in a Jackdaw, which I have not used much in the past.

CCP have said they won’t be advising of how long the downtime will be for the Ascension Release (scheduled on Tuesday 15th). They want to do whatever testing they feel is required before opening the game world. I’m not sure they have ever done that before.

https://community.eveonline.com/news/news-channels/eve-online-news/eve-online-ascension-to-be-deployed-on-tuesday-november-15th/

There will also be a dramatic increase in research, copy and manufacturing times for big blueprints for Capitals, Structures, Supercarriers and Titans.

https://forums.eveonline.com/default.aspx?g=posts&m=6701678#post6701678

It reads that it is to offset the bonuses from the new engineering structures. That seems to nerf the Solo Industrialist who makes normal Capitals out of stations.

4 thoughts on “200

  1. Gee, no surprise there. More success by the null sec cartel’s CSM to wipe out high sec and low sec industry. I have been copying and selling cap blueprints for years, doing the copying in low sec, low index systems, then transporting them to Jita for sale. That was the only way to compete with the cartels. Clearly, the cartels wanted that avenue closed off.

    • While the CSM had a hand in this decision, I don’t personally view it as a Null Sec manipulation / win. I think it is just another example of how CCP don’t have a real understanding of how solo or small groups of people play the game if they are not doing PVP. They say they are always mindful of the style of game play, but their design decisions continue to remove previously viable game play options from us.

  2. I agree with the slow death of solo play. When ever I see this mentioned you get the ‘this is a mmo team up’
    Well I have already teamed up for pvp. My industry time is like my own quiet time.
    Also pvpers dont wait around in fleets to rescue industrialist. If I was doing something and got caught and I said help in comms. I can tell you now I would get laughed at and told too bad.

Leave a Reply

