When in-game ISK is out-of-game

Just a quick thought.

If I consider how much of my in-game wealth is in play – being actively used on the markets or flown in and around space, the total would not reach 10B ISK.

I would have a further 10B ISK of assets which I call memorabilia. Aside a handful of times when moving home station, these never interact with the game. They are collectibles and hanger ornaments that please me in different ways.

As a self-proclaimed risk-averse Carebear, I have slowly but surely accumulated wealth in excess of what I use in game. This primarily sits in a couple divisions in my Corporation wallet.

For all intents and purposes, the large majority of my wealth is effectively unused and out-of-game. I wonder how common that is – and just how big that ISK sink is amongst carebears.

6 thoughts on “When in-game ISK is out-of-game

  1. I have similar items that just sit there. I label mine CCP Junk. They are the items that I have redeemed over the years. You know those awesome Christmas gifts. They are always something to look forward to. Might have to start a second container soon.

  2. If I may make a pedantic point, your ‘out-of-game’ wealth isn’t ‘sinked’ out of the game, it’s bound up in comparatively illiquid virtual real estate (actual virtual boats, actual virtual memorabilia). ‘Sink’ usually refers to ISK permanently removed from the game by such things as NPC taxes and broker fees. Oh, and I just got to say, ‘actual virtual boats’ which is pretty cool. Inception economics.

    • If I may now be pedantic with myself, ‘illiquid virtual real estate’ probably isn’t the correct term. ‘Illiquid virtual chattel’ seems more accurate. Citadels might count as real estate. You don’t happen to own a Citadel do you? No? Some member of the aristocracy you are. 🙂

      • I know technically it is not an ISK sink. It is more the concept of what wealth is active in the game, and what isn’t directly impacting it.

        A person plays EVE for a few years and amasses 100B ISK. They then stop playing, leaving all their wealth safe and out of reach of anyone. Do you continue to consider that wealth active in the game? Do you discount it if the person hasn’t logged in for 6 months, a year, three years?

        My post above is a continuation of that idea. If a person does not use their wealth, and it is not really available for anyone else to get at it, do you consider it active in the game? For many years the majority of my wealth has had no direct impact on the game. It hasn’t moved through or touched the markets. It isn’t in a position where someone else could interact with it. It hasn’t – for years, been active.

        I know it isn’t something viable to measure. The thought came because before the Ascension release, CCP could look at assets on inactive accounts as being inactive. Now they can’t.

      • >I know it isn’t something viable to measure. The thought came because before the Ascension release, CCP could look at assets on inactive accounts as being inactive. Now they can’t.

        CCP Quant could use the “last login” date as a way to assess active vs. inactive. If you haven’t logged in 30 or 90 days you are considered an inactive. I’ll guess we’ll see in his next economic report.

        What you say though is true, much wealth must get “sinked” into hangers and wallets of players that have no intention of using it and likely never will. I think this phenomenon might explain some of why inflation has been generally so low for most goods over the years despite the dramatic increase in player wealth. Many players play the game to just horde wealth, never intending to use it except for perhaps purchasing additional game time. Consistent with that, PLEX and related items is an area of the market that has experienced an significant increase in price over the years, paralleling the expansion of the economy.

Leave a Reply

