Watcher

Last weekend my wife and I dropped the kids off at their grandparents and went away for our 21st wedding anniversary. We try to do this each year. The accommodation we choose tends to have similar ingredients – a cottage somewhere in the countryside, views, a comfy area to sit, a fire place and a big spa.

I had planned to play some EVE each morning while my wife slept in – but the cottage was 10 metres too far down the valley to receive mobile coverage, so I read a book by James Dashner instead.

In the past, this might have bothered me. I might have hung my wireless broadband device from a nearby tree and set my laptop up by a window. Today, the situation barely warranted a shrug.

I wasn’t sure I’d ever truly reach the point, but today I could comfortably and without regret walk away from EVE.  Happy with what I got out of it, happy to move on.

I am not going to – as simply I don’t need too.  My Main account is subscribed for the rest of the year.  In the meanwhile I quietly keep an eye out for any announced game changes which might re-enthuse me, and try to log in every other week to ensure the client is kept up to date.  I can’t really call myself an EVE player at the moment.  More an EVE watcher.

I did unlock the other day to check out the new look Suns. Very swish. I like them a lot.

In the meanwhile – fly safe all.

3 thoughts on “Watcher

  1. Congratulations on the anniversary! I think I’m going through exactly what you are with Eve. I can sub if I feel the desire to, but I haven’t felt compelled enough to spend my hard-earned money on Eve. It feels nice to step away from a game that I played almost exclusively for seven years, and not have any regrets. When the game calls me again, I will pick it up again. Right now, there’s not enough to bring me back. I really should take the countryside and the cottage idea and put it into practice; it sounds very relaxing!

  2. You are part of a growing group. CCP’s catering exclusively to the RMT cartels is now showing the results. The straw that broke the camel’s back has occurred for many in the past 2 years.

  3. Congrats on your 21st years Anniversary. Despite the maybe up and down times one may have had over the years, your doing something obviously right to reach such a milestone anniversary because it goes much against the prevailing common social winds. I can understand the Wifi thing, maybe its something time and growing up does to us… over time and the importance of things. Yet nice story of it. I guess it’s nice to sit on the intersection crossroads and ponder, yet feeling fine not matter which direction one looks.

Leave a Reply

