Proof Reading

While I make an effort with my writing here on the blog, I am not a natural wordsmith.

I have a very large document on my PC (290 pages / 72,510 words as of a minute ago) that contains all my blog notes.  There are post ideas, game play notes, rule change notes, and a very large number of draft posts, most of which won’t ever see the light of day.

I will often draft and redraft a post multiple times across a couple of days.  If it reaches a solid enough state I make an effort to finish it off.  When I am finally happy enough with it I will read it out aloud (or more often quietly under my breath) to try and pick up any last mistakes.  I will then cut and paste the entry into WordPress, where I will add any media, ensure the links are configured, and do one more read.  When happy with all that I will hit publish, then immediately read the uploaded post.  After, I remove the post from my document, and finally do one last check read when the post happens into my RSS Reader.

I don’t do this because I love to read what I write.  In part I take care because obvious spelling and grammatical mistakes distract from whatever message you are trying to convey.  In part it is because I take a bit of pride in my work.  In part it relates to those Anxieties I mentioned in my last post, not wanting to embarrass myself too much I guess.

Despite my care, I can not tell you how often I find obvious mistakes after I have published a post!  Tonight one of them was using the term peripherals instead of peripheries in the last post.

Some days however, I will see an obvious mistake after I have published a post and think – fuck it – the mistake stays.

I am not sure how many mistakes will be in this post – it went straight into WordPress.  To amuse myself I won’t correct any after I hit publish.

(Also, I won’t post any more today.. not sure what came over me.)

3 thoughts on “Proof Reading

  1. I’m feel ya on that. It’s time consuming for sure. Many never realize just how long it takes to write any post, but they do zero in on the mistakes.

  2. Worthwhile adding your blog to the Eve Bloggers site? Your Eve blog is one of the few I find interesting these days and I usually head to the 7 day page to catch up on recent entries

    • Thanks for your comment.

      I am not sure how active the person or people behind EVE Bloggers are. The front page still refers to itself as being in first draft, and they promote lots of blogs that haven’t been updated in years. I do have a vague recollection of trying to add the site a while back but nothing came from it.

      At the moment I am not particularly inclined to promote this blog. I don’t strictly focus just on EVE, and many of my EVE topics can be sort of whimsical or ambiguous. It wouldn’t be to everyone’s taste.

Leave a Reply

