Pace

I find my life overly busy, rushed and complicated. If I am to be honest, I don’t find that much joy in it. I would much prefer a slower pace.

Outside of divorce, there is not a great deal I can do about it. My wife has a pathological need to fill life with activity that can’t be sated or reasoned with.

When it all starts to feel too much, I tend to resort to physically decluttering. I’ll sort, I’ll neaten, I’ll clean, I’ll throw stuff away, to end up with a little area of calm in the whirlwind that my life can seem like some days. Often it will just be my computer desk – and generally it doesn’t last long.

For many years I would escape to EVE Online for a few hours, but we know how that is working out at the moment. Now more often EVE is coming up as a possible target for my decluttering endeavours.

I need to salvage my interest in EVE, else I take back those 1 to 4 hours a week (mainly reading) that it distracts me, and have my wife spend them on what she wants. There is always some new or return activity on her mind. My Daughter has been asking about doing gymnastics again, to add to her soccer, athletics, roller derby, swimming and karate…