Oh look – some wreckage

 

I wrote the other day that I did not think much of the reaction of some of the Null Sec leaders to their Drifter invasion. They seemed to want to lash out and damage the game and other players instead of – at least publicly, being constructive in their feedback and lobbying.

Mike Azariah went a little further.

https://mikeazariah.wordpress.com/2019/07/04/why-i-aint-in-charge/

It is fascinating that it is even possible for them to do it – but probably doesn’t speak well of them from a personality point of view.

What I might not have been clear on is that I agree with many of their concerns and complaints.

On one hand I don’t mind that CCP introduces new things as a back story, and that players need to work things out for themselves. The Drifter invasion however seems to reduce player against player interactions in Null Sec and sounds tedious and unrewarding.

https://tagn.wordpress.com/2019/07/04/drifter-change-up/

Like the Triglavian invasion, the Drifter invasions are changing over time, but CCP has just ramped that up even further:

https://www.eveonline.com/article/pu69gy/nullsec-local-blackout-incoming-during-july

At some point soon, CCP will be switching local chat in all Null Sec over to delayed mode. It will operate as Local does in Wormhole space. The back story is that CONCORD’s resources are stretched due to the invasions and they are having to turn it off.

We don’t know if it is temporary, or a trial to becoming permanent, or if CCP will be releasing new tools or Upwell structures to allow Null Sec residents to combat this change.

The feedback is about what I would have expected.

https://forums.eveonline.com/t/local-comms-blackout-discussion-thread/171935/43

There are some very unhappy people, and some very happy people goading them and gloating over the impact.

It turns out CCP has encouraged player verse player interactions – it just happened to be on the forums where the consequences are lost good will and subscriptions.

If I was in Null Sec I would not like that change – but then I am not the sort of player CCP seems to favour.

My god I hope you know what you are doing CCP.

Meanwhile, I think I might get the hell away from Jita.

2 thoughts on “Oh look – some wreckage

    • The feedback forum thread is long and growing longer – and is full of venom and hate. Whatever CCP has stirred up doesn’t smell too good at this point.

Leave a comment